# **APPENDIX 2**

# **Public Hearings**

# Thursday, 9 October 2008 The Marque Hotel, Perth

#### **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Mathias Cormann

#### Witnesses

#### **WACOSS**

Ms Sue Ash, Chief Executive Officer Ms Irina Cattalini, Director, Social Policy

## **National Welfare Rights Network**

Ms Kate Beaumont, President

## WA Council of State School Organisations (WACSSO)

Ms Amanda Hill, Policy and Research Officer

### **Centrecare Inc**

Ms Leanne Strommen, Executive Manager

#### **Communicare Inc**

Mr Wayne Stevenson, General Manager

#### Playgroup WA

Mr David Zarb, Chief Executive Officer

#### **Ngala**

Mrs Rae Walter, Chief Executive Officer

## Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia

Mr Terry Whitby, President Mr Dennis Eggington, Chief Executive Officer Miss Kathryn Allingham, Policy Officer

#### **South Metropolitan Youth Link (SMYL)**

Ms Julie Mitchell, Executive Officer

## **Uniting Care West**

Mr Chris Hall, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Lyn Shirley, Executive Manager

Ms Melissa Del Borrello, Corporate Projects Officer

### **Anglicare**

Mr Ian Carter, Chief Executive Officer

Mr John Berger, Executive Manager Operations

# Monday, 3 November 2008 Parliament House, Canberra

#### **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair)

Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair)

Senator Judith Adams

Senator Catryna Bilyk

Senator Mark Furner

Senator Gary Humphries

#### Witnesses

### ACOSS (via teleconference)

Mr Gregor Macfie, Policy Manager

Ms Jacqueline Philips, Policy Officer

### North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (NAAJA) (via videoconference)

Ms Priscilla Collins, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Helen Wodak, Advocacy Manager

Ms Annabel Pengilley, Welfare Rights Solicitor

Ms Liz Turnbull, Welfare Rights Solicitor

## **Central Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service (CAALAS)**

(via videoconference)

Mrs Patricia Miller AO, Director

Mr Mark O'Reilly, Principal Legal Officer

Ms Lauren Walker, Welfare Rights Lawyer

## Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Mr Graham Carters, Deputy Secretary, Employment and Strategic Policy

Mr William Goff, Assistant Director, School Enrolment and Attendance Measure Implementation Team

Mr Stephen Goodwin, Acting Branch Manager, Northern Territory Taskforce

Mr Geoff Kimber, Principal Government Lawyer

Mr Damien McGrath, Director, National Student Attendance Unit

Ms Teena Parkinson, Director, School Enrolment and Attendance Measure Implementation Team

# Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Gavin Matthews, Acting Branch Manager, Welfare Payments Reform Branch

#### **Centrelink**

Mr Robert Hall, Business Manager, School Enrolment and Attendance Project