# **APPENDIX 2**

# WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Thursday, 7 May 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

#### **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Catryna Bilyk Senator Sue Boyce Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries

#### Witnesses

#### **Dr Louise Morauta**

Project Director, National Registration and Accreditation Implementation Project

# **Australian Osteopathic Association**

Dr Ben Field, National President Mr Antony Nicholas, Executive Director Mr George Brownbill, Consultant

# **Australian Physiotherapy Association**

Mr Patrick Maher, President Mr Jonathon Kruger, Manager, Policy and Communications Division

# **Australian Physiotherapy Council**

Professor Tony Wright, Chair Ms Margaret Grant, Chief Executive Officer

# **Australian Peak Nursing and Midwifery Forum**

Ms Karen Cook, CEO, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Council Ms Lee Thomas, Assistant Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing Federation Ms Debra Cerasa, Chief Executive Officer, Royal College of Nursing Australia Dr Barbara Vernon, Executive Officer, Australian College of Midwives

#### **Committee of Presidents of Medical Colleges**

Professor Russell Stitz AM RFD, Chair

Dr Glenda Wood, Chair-elect; and President, Australasian College of Dermatologists Professor Geoffrey Metz AM, President, Royal Australasian College of Physicians

#### **Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand**

Professor Alan Carmichael, President

Professor Peter Smith, Member Executive

# **National Coalition of Public Pathology**

Associate Professor Roger Wilson, President

Ms Penny Rogers, Chief Executive Officer

Professor Leslie Burnett, Director and Chief Executive, Pathology North, NSW Health

Dr Tony Badrick, Senior Medical Laboratory Scientist, Sullivan & Nicolaides; and Chair, Pathology Associations Council Workforce Committee

# Monday, 13 July 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

#### **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator the Hon Eric Abetz Senator Sue Boyce Senator Carol Brown Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator John Williams

#### Witnesses

# **Australasian Podiatry Council**

Mr Brenden Brown, President Mr Peter Lazzarini, Vice President Dr Sue Whicker, Chief of Staff

#### **Australasian College of Podiatric Surgeons**

Mr Mark Gilheany, President

#### **Optometrists Association of Australia**

Mr Andrew Harris, National President Mr Joe Chakman, Executive Director

Mr John Beever, National Government Affairs Manager

#### **Australian Psychological Society**

Australian Psychological Society College of Counselling Psychologists Australian Psychological Society College of Organisational Psychologists

Professor Lyn Littlefield, Executive Director

Mr David Stokes, Senior Manager, Professional Issues

Professor John O'Gorman, Member, College of Organisational Psychologists

#### **Australian Dental Association**

Dr Neil Hewson, Federal President

Mr Robert Boyd-Boland, Chief Executive Officer

#### **Pharmacy Guild**

Mr Ian Todd, National Councillor

Mrs Judy Liauw, National Councillor

Ms Wendy Phillips, Executive Director

Ms Ann Dalton, Director, Government Relations and Policy

# **Chiropractors Association of Australia (CAA)**

Ms Krystina Brown, Chief Executive Officer

Dr Dennis Richards, National President

Dr Sharyn Eaton, National Director, CAA; and Chair, NSW Chiropractic Registration Board; and Head, Department of Chiropractic, Macquarie University

# **Royal Australasian College of Surgeons**

Dr David Hillis, Chief Executive Officer

Mr James McAdam, Director, Relationships and Advocacy

# Pharmaceutical Society of Australia

Mr Grant Martin, Director Professional Services

Ms Kay Sorimachi, Director, Policy and Regulatory Affairs

# Australasian Conference of Chiropractors Registration Boards (ACCRB) Chiropractors Registration Boards of Australia (via teleconference)

Dr Stephen Crean, Chairman, Working Party for the CRBA

Dr Michael Schobbrook, Representative, ACCRB

Dr Peter Cowie, Delegate, ACCRB

#### Tuesday, 14 July 2009

Parliament House, Canberra

#### **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair)

Senator Sue Boyce

Senator Carol Brown

Senator Carol Brown

Senator Mark Furner

Senator Gary Humphries

Senator John Williams

#### Witnesses

#### **Public Interest Advocacy Centre (via teleconference)**

Mr Peter Dodds, Solicitor, Health Advocacy and Policy

# **Medical Indemnity Industry Association of Australia**

Mrs Ellen Edmonds-Wilson, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Helen Turnbull, Solicitor Manager, Avant

Dr Sara Bird, Medico-legal Manager; and Advisory Services Coordinator, MDA National Insurance

#### **Australian Medical Council**

Mr Ian Frank, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Drew Menzies-McVey, Research and Policy Analyst

# **Royal Australian College of General Practitioners**

Professor Peter Mudge, Chair, Council of the RACGP Dr Greg Wilson, National Policy Advisor

#### **Australian Medical Association**

Dr Andrew Pesce, President Mr Francis Sullivan, Secretary General

#### **Dr Louise Morauta**

Project Director, National Registration and Accreditation Implementation Project