# **APPENDIX 2**

# **Public Hearings**

# Thursday, 11 September 2008 Radisson on Flagstaff Hotel, Melbourne

#### **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Steve Fielding Senator Mark Furner Senator nick Xenophon

#### Witnesses

Dr Charles Livingstone Professor Linda Hancock

#### **Mr Tim Falkiner**

#### **Regis Controls**

Mr Elik Szewach, Chief Executive Officer Ms Lisa Horten, Director Mr Ian Donald, Technical Director

#### Social Responsibilities Committee Anglican Diocese of Melbourne

Rev Graham Reynolds, SRC Member

Anglicare Victoria Mr Mark Longmuir, Manager, Community Services, Gippsland

#### Victorian InterChurch Gambling Taskforce

Dr Mark Zirnsak, Chair Mr Denis Fitzgerald, Executive Director, Catholic Social Services Ms Gabriela Byrne, Taskforce consultant

**Responsible Gaming Networks** Mr Phillip Ryan, Chief Executive Officer

**Duty of Care (SA)** Ms Sue Pinkerton, President Ms Libby Mitchell, Vice-President

# Friday, 12 September 2008 State Library of New South Wales, Sydney

## **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Steve Fielding Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator Nick Xenophon

# Witnesses

# **Australian Hotels Association**

Mr Bill Healey, Chief Executive Officer Mr John Whelan, Director, Responsible Gambling

# **Clubs Australia**

Mr David Costello, Executive Director Mr Anthony Ball, Executive Manager, Policy and Government

# Australian Bankers' Association Inc (ABA)

Mr David Bell, Chief Executive Officer Ms Diane Tate, Director, Corporate & Consumer Policy

# **ATM Industry Reference Group**

Mr David Glen, Chair ATM Reference Group Mr Paul Stewart, representative, ATM Industry Reference Group

# **Central Coast Problem Gambling Service**

Mr Chris Davidson, Manager Mr Lincoln Poole, Counsellor

# **Gambling Impact Society (NSW)**

Ms Kate Roberts, Chair Mrs Dorothy Webb, consumer and Secretary

# Gaming Technologies Association (formerly known as the Australasian Gaming Machine Manufacturers Association)

Mr Ross Ferrar, Chief Executive Officer Mr Garrie Gibson, Government Relations Consultant

# Thursday, 25 September 2008 Parliament House, Canberra

#### **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Steve Fielding

Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator Nick Xenophon

## Witnesses

## Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Jill Farrelly, Branch Manager, Community Support Programs Branch Mr Evan Lewis, Group Manager, Mental Health, Autism and Community Programs Group

# Thursday, 16 October 2008 Parliament House, Canberra

## **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Steve Fielding Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator Nick Xenophon

## Witnesses

## Independent Gambling Authority (South Australia)

Mr Robert Chappell, Director – via teleconference

## Inspection

# Friday, 12 September 2008 5-13 Rosebery Avenue, Rosebery, Sydney

#### **Committee Members in attendance**

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Steve Fielding Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator Nick Xenophon

The Committee visited the gaming machine manufacturer IGT Aust (International Gaming Technology).