APPENDIX 2

Public Hearing

Monday, 28 July 2008 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Gary Humphries (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck Senator Scott Ryan

Witnesses

Australian Medical Association

Mr Francis Sullivan, Secretary General

Royal Australasian College of Physicians

Professor Shane Carney, Chair, College Physicians Expert Advisory Group Ms Mary Osborn, Senior Policy Officer

Pharmacy Guild of Australia

Mr John Dowling, Chairman, Health Economics Dr Michael Tatchell, Director, Health Economics and Business Development Mr Stephen Armstrong, Divisional Manager, Economic Analysis and e-Health

Associate Professor Thomas Faunce

Professor Allan McLean

Palliative Care Australia

Ms Donna Daniell, Chief Executive Officer Professor Peter Ravenscroft, Specialist in Palliative Medicine Mr Bruce Shaw, National Policy Director

Medicines Australia

Mr Will Delaat, Chairman Mr Ian Chalmers, Chief Executive Officer Dr Brendan Shaw, Executive Director, Health Policy and Research

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr David Learmonth, Deputy Secretary
Mr Stephen Dellar, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Pharmaceutical Benefits
Mrs Diana Macdonald, Acting Assistant Secretary