APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Thursday, 30 October 2008 Crowne Plaza, Darwin

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Trish Crossin Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion

Witnesses

Northern Territory Government

Mr Mike Burgess, Chief Executive, Department of the Chief Minister

Ms Jennifer Prince, Under Treasurer, Northern Territory Treasury

Ms Jenny Scott, Executive Director, Community Services, Department of Health and Familes

Mr Bruce Michael, Senior Director, Public Finance, Northern Territory Treasury

Northern Territory Council for Social Services

Mr Barry Hansen, President

Ms Wendy Morton, Executive Director

Central Land Council

Mr David Ross, Director

Mr Jeremy Dore, Senior Policy Officer

Tiwi Land Council

Mr Robert Tipungwuti, Chairman

Mr Walter Kerinaiua, Manager, Tiwi Land Council and Director, Mantiyupwi Association

Mr Cyril Kalippa OAM, Manager, Tiwi Land Council and Member, Tiwi Education Board

Mr John Hicks, Executive Secretary, Tiwi Land Council

NT Shelter

Ms Toni Vine Bromley, Executive Officer

Tuesday, 11 November 2008 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Trish Crossin Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion

Witnesses

Commonwealth Grants Commission

Mr John Spasojevic, Secretary

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Bernie Yates, Deputy Secretary
Ms Lynne Curran, Group Manager, Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination
Mr Matthew James, Branch Manager, Performance and Evaluation