

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Chair

Senator Annette Hurley

Deputy Chair

Senator Alan Eggleston

Members

Senator Doug Cameron Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Louise Pratt Senator Nick Xenophon

Substitute Member Senator David Bushby

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Committee Secretary Senate Economics Legislation Committee PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3540 **Fax:** 02 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_economics/

Inquiry into Fairer Private Health Insurance Incentives Bill 2009; Fairer Private Health Insurance Incentives (Medicare Levy Surcharge) Bill 2009; Fairer Private Health Insurance Incentives (Medicare Levy Surcharge—Fringe Benefits) Bill 2009

Date Tuesday, 9 June 2009

Start 8.30am

Venue Committee Room 2R1

Parliament House, Canberra

8.30am–9.15am	Treasury
9.15am–10.00am	Department of Health and Ageing
10.00am-10.45am	Professor John Deeble Emeritus Fellow, Australian National University Australian Health and Hospitals Association Ms Prue Power, Executive Director
10.45am-11.30am	Medibank Private Mr Michael Sammells, Chief Financial Officer
11.30am–12.15pm	Australian Private Hospitals Association Mr Michael Roff, Executive Director Dr Barbara Carney, Director, Policy and Research
12.15pm-1.00pm	Lunch
1.00pm-1.45pm	Australian Health Insurance Association (teleconference) Dr Michael Armitage, Executive Director
1.45pm-2.30pm	Mr Ian McAuley Centre for Research in Public Sector Management, University of Canberra
2.30pm-3.15pm	Mr Rob Wells Director, Menzies Centre for Health Policy Executive Director, ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment
3.15pm-4.00pm	Catholic Health Australia Mr Martin Laverty, Chief Executive
4.00pm	Adjournment