APPENDIX 2

Public Hearings

Tuesday, 6 May 2008 St James Court Conference Centre, Melbourne

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Gary Humphries (Deputy Chair) Senator Simon Birmingham Senator Sue Boyce Senator Carol Brown Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck Senator Steve Fielding

Witnesses

Senator Rachel Siewert

VicHealth - Victorian Health Promotion Foundation

Mr Todd Harper, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Brian Vandenberg, Senior Program Advisor, Tobacco Control & Alcohol Harm Reduction

Australian Drug Foundation

Mr John Rogerson, Chief Executive Officer Mr Geoff Munro, Director, Community Alcohol Action Network

Public Health Association of Australia

Mr Michael Moore, Chief Executive Officer (via teleconference)
Professor Helen Keleher, Board Member and President, Victorian Branch

Alcohol and Other Drugs Council (ADCA)

Mr David Templeman, Chief Executive Officer Dr Ken Pidd, Board Member Mr Mark Buckingham, Board Member

Alcohol Beverages Advertising Code (ABAC)

Mr Gordon Broderick, Chairman Professor Michael Lavarch, Chief Adjudicator Ms Victoria Rubensohn AM, Pre-vetting Adjudicator Mr Dominic Nolan, Member

Australasian Associated Brewers (AAB)

Mr Stephen Swift, Executive Director

Ms Natalie Toohey, Representative

Winemakers' Federation of Australia

Mr Stephen Strachan, Chief Executive

Mr Dominic Nolan, General Manager

Distilled Spirits Industry Council of Australia

Ms Eleanor Craig, Chair

Mr Gordon Broderick, Executive Director

Mr Stephen Riden, Manager, Information and Research

Mr Warwick Ryan, Adviser

Australasian Faculty of Public Health Medicine

Dr Steven Skov, Policy and Advocacy Committee (via teleconference)

National Drug Research Institute (NDRI)

Professor Steve Allsop, Director (via teleconference)

Dr Tanya Chikritzhs, Senior Research Fellow

Commissioner for Children, Tasmania

Mr Paul Mason, Commissioner (via teleconference)

Thursday, 15 May 2008 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair)

Senator Gary Humphries (Deputy Chair)

Senator Judith Adams

Senator Simon Birmingham

Senator Sue Boyce

Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck

Senator Steve Fielding

Senator Rachel Siewert

Witnesses

Professor Sandra Jones, Director, Centre for Health Initiatives, University of Wollongong

Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund

Mr Daryl Smeaton, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Scott Wilson, Deputy Chair

Free TV Australia

Mr Wayne Goss, Chair Ms Julie Flynn, Chief Executive Officer

Commercial Radio Australia

Ms Joan Warner, Chief Executive Officer Ms Sarah Herbert, Manager Legal and Regulatory

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr David Learmonth, Deputy Secretary Ms Jenny Bryant, First Assistant Secretary, Population Health Branch Ms Virginia Hart, Assistant Secretary, Drug Strategy Branch

Food Standards Australia and New Zealand

Mr John Fladun, General Counsel