# **APPENDIX 2**

# WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Thursday, 1 April 2004 Parliament House, Canberra

# **Australian Centre for Hepatitis Virology Inc**

Professor CJ Burrell, Chairman

# **Australian Hepatitis Council**

Ms Kerry Paterson, A/g Executive Officer

# **Department of Health and Ageing**

Mr Philip Davies, Deputy Secretary

Professor John Horvath, Chief Medical Officer

Mr Terry Slater, National Manager, TGA

Dr Louise Morauta, First Assistant Secretary, Acute Care Division

Mr Andrew Stuart, First Assistant Secretary, Population Health Division

Ms Nola Witchard, A/g Assistant Secretary, Acute Care Development Branch

# Monday, 5 April 2004

# St James Court Conference & Function Centre, West Melbourne

# Haemophilia Foundation Australia

Ms Ann Roberts, President

Ms Sharon Caris, Executive Director

Mr Peter Mathews, Vice President

Mr Gavin Finkelstein, Treasurer

#### **National Serology Reference Laboratory**

Associate Professor Elizabeth Dax, Director

## **Australian Association of Pathology Practices**

Dr Graeme Swinton, Past President & Executive Member

Dr Robert Baird, Observer

#### **CSL Limited**

Dr Daryl Maher, Medical and Research Director

# Tuesday, 6 April 2004 Jubilee Room, NSW Parliament House, Sydney

# **Hepatitis C Council of NSW**

Mr Stuart Loveday, Executive Officer

#### **TRAIDS**

Ms Maria Romaniw, Coordinator

Ms Miriam Vellscek, Client

# **Tainted Blood Product Action Group**

Mr Charles MacKenzie, Administrator

Rev. Bill Crews, Member

Mr Michael Pollack, Member

Ms Jacinta Jacobsen, Member

Ms Suzanne Bollmeyer, Member

## Australian Haemophilia Centre Directors' Organisation

Dr John Rowell, Chairman

# **Professor Bruce Barraclough**

Chair, Australian Council for Safety and Quality in Health Care

# **Medical Error Action Group**

Ms Lorraine Long, Founder

## **Professor Geoff McCaughan**

Wednesday, 7 April 2004 All Seasons Menzies Hotel, Sydney

Ms Maureen Lewis

**Mr Shelton Carroll** 

Mr Luigi Palombi

## **Australian Red Cross Blood Service**

Dr Brenton Wylie, Spokesperson

Dr Paul Holland, International expert

Dr David Rosenfeld, Haemotologist

Mr Brian Pepper, Donor

Mrs Carole Tozer, Recipient