APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Thursday 29 August 2002

Parliament House, Canberra

National Health and Medical Research Council

Professor Alan Pettigrew, Chief Executive Officer Dr Clive Morris, Executive Director, COAG Implementation Taskforce Ms Andrea Matthews, Consultant, Matthews Pegg Consulting

Tuesday 17 September 2002

Parliament House, Canberra

BresaGen Limited

Dr Christopher Juttner, Senior Vice President

Professor Bernie Tuch, Director, Diabetes Transplant Unit, Prince of Wales Hospital

Stem Cell Sciences

Mr Hugh Ilyine, General Manager

Southern Cross Bioethics Institute

Dr Greg Pike, Deputy Director

Dr Peter Silburn, Neurologist, Princess Alexandra Hospital and Spokesman, Scientific Committee Parkinson's Australia

Right to Life Australia

Ms Margaret Tighe

Coalition for the Advancement of Medical Research Australia (CAMRA) Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF)

Ms Sheila Royles, Spokesperson (CAMRA) and Chief Executive Officer (JDRF) Mr James Shepherd, Youth Ambassador (JDRF)

Australasian Spinal Research Trust

Mr Bob Turner, Honorary CEO Ms Johanna Knott, Director

Motor Neurone Disease Association

Mr Kevin Langdon, NSW President

Thursday 19 September 2002

Parliament House, Canberra

Professor Michael Good, Director, Queensland Institute of Medical Research

Associate Professor Paul Simmons, Head, Stem Cell Laboratory, Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute

Professor Perry Bartlett, Chairman of Molecular Biology, Uni of Queensland and Walter and Eliza Hall Institute

Professor Peter Rowe, Director, Children's Medical Research Institute, Westmead

Professor John Hearn, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), ANU

Australian Academy of Science

Professor Sue Serjeantson, Executive Secretary Professor John White, Academy Spokesperson on Human Cloning Professor John Shine, Secretary, Biological Sciences

AusBiotech

Dr Tony Coulepis, Executive Director

Tuesday 24 September 2002

Parliament House, Canberra

Monash Institute of Reproduction and Development:

Professor Alan Trounson, Director, Centre for Early Human Development, Deputy Director MIRD and CEO Designate National Stem Cell Centre

Associate Professor Martin Pera, Co-Director, CEHD

Dr Andrew Elefanty, Senior Research Fellow, Laboratory Head, CEHD

Dr Edouard Stanley, Senior Research Fellow

National Stem Cell Centre

Mr Bob Moses, Chairman

Professor Douglas Saunders, Chair, Reproductive Technology Accreditation Committee of the Fertility Society of Australia

Anglican Diocese of Sydney

Dr Megan Best, Member, Archbishop's Social Executive Committee

Dr Nicholas Tonti-Filippini

Dr Peter McCullagh

Do No Harm

Dr David van Gend, Queensland spokesperson

Dr Amin Abboud, Director, Australian Bioethics Information

Australian Family Association

Mr Bill Muehlenberg, National Vice President

Don't Cross the Line

Mr Rocky Mimmo, Convenor

Thursday 26 September 2002

Parliament House, Canberra

Associate Professor Peter Illingworth, Westmead Fertility Clinic

ACCESS - Australia's National Infertility Network

Ms Sandra Dill, Executive Director

Monash IVF

Dr Adrianne Pope, Director of Laboratory Services

Sydney IVF

Professor Robert Jansen, Medical and Managing Director

Australian Catholic Bishops Conference

Archbishop Philip Wilson, Archbishop of Adelaide

Dr Warwick Neville, Research Fellow

Ms Marcia Riordan, Executive Officer, Respect Life Office,

Archdiocese of Melbourne

Catholic Health Australia

Mr Francis Sullivan, Chief Executive

Catholic Women's League Australia

Mrs Mary Uhlmann, National Bioethics Convenor

Ms Aileen Solowiej, Communications Officer

Queensland Bioethics Centre

Mr Ray Campbell, Director

Rev Professor Michael Tate AO, former Chairman, Senate Select Committee on Human Embryo Experimentation

Biotechnology Australia

Ms Kerri Hartland, Executive General Manager

Dr David Swanton, Manager, Industry Development

Australian Research Council

Mr Greg Harper, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Professor Bill Sawyer, Executive Director, Biological Sciences and Biotechnology

National Health and Medical Research Council

Dr Clive Morris, Executive Director, COAG Implementation Task Force

Ms Andrea Mathews, Consultant, Matthews Pegg Consulting

Australian Health Ethics Committee

Dr Kerry Breen, Chair