Membership of the Committee

Members

Senator Sue Knowles, Chairman LP, Western Australia Senator Natasha Stott Despoja, Deputy AD, South Australia

Chair (from 17.9.02)

Senator Guy Barnett LP, Tasmania Senator Kay Denman ALP, Tasmania

Senator the Hon Bill Heffernan LP, New South Wales

(from 28.8.02)

Senator Steve Hutchins ALP, New South Wales

Former members

Senator Lyn Allison, Deputy Chair AD, Victoria

(until 17.9.02)

Senator the Hon John Herron LP, Queensland

(until 28.8.02)

Substitute members for this inquiry

Senator McLucas replace Senate Denman for the inquiry from 17 September 2002.

Senator Mason replace Senator Heffernan on 17 September 2002 from 4.45 pm until the Committee concludes its business on that day.

Senator Eggleston replace Senator Heffernan on 19, 24 and 26 September 2002.

Senator Bishop replace Senator Hutchins from 6.10 pm on 19 September 2002 until the Committee concludes its business on that day.

Participating members

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz LP, Tasmania

Senator Mark Bishop ALP, Western Australia

Senator the Hon Ron Boswell

Senator Bob Brown** (from 27.8.02)

NPA, Queensland

AG, Tasmania

Senator Geoffrey Buckland ALP, South Australia

Senator Paul Calvert LP, Tasmania Senator Kim Carr ALP, Victoria

Senator Grant Chapman

LP, South Australia
Senator John Cherry*

AD, Queensland
Senator Jacinta Collins

ALP, Victoria

Senator Helen Coonan LP, New South Wales
Senator Trish Crossin ALP, Northern Territory

Senator Kay Denman** (from 17.9.02) ALP, Tasmania

Senator Alan Eggleston

LP, Western Australia
Senator Chris Evans

ALP, Western Australia
Senator the Hon John Faulkner

ALP, New South Wales

Senator Alan Ferguson

LP, South Australia

LP, South Australia

LP, South Australia

ALP, New South Wales

Senator Brian Grieg^ (from 17.9.02) AD, Western Australia

Senator Brian Harradine

Senator Len Harris

PHON, Queensland

Senator John Hogg

ALP, Queensland

IND, South Australia

Senator Ross Lightfoot

Senator Julian McGauran

Senator Jan McLucas

Senator Claire Moore

Senator Shayne Murphy

Senator Kerry Nettle** (from 27.8.02)

LP, Western Australia

NPA, Victoria

ALP, Queensland

IND, Tasmania

Senator Marise Payne LP, New South Wales

Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (from 22.8.02 to 17.9.02)

Senator John Tierney LP, New South Wales

Senator John Watson LP, Tasmania

Senator Ruth Webber ALP, Western Australia

AD, South Australia

^{*} For matters relating to the Family and Community Services portfolio

[^] For matters relating to the Health portfolio

^{**} For the Committee's inquiry into the provisions of the Research Involving Embryos and Prohibition of Human Cloning Bill 2002