APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Monday, 14 August 2000 at 9.05 am, Senate Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House, Canberra

Dr T J Higgins, Project Leader, Plant Industry, CSIRO

(Background briefing on gene technology and genetic modification)

Department of Health and Aged Care

Mr David Borthwick, Deputy Secretary, Department of Health and Aged Care

Ms Elizabeth Cain, Head, Interim Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (IOGTR)

Mr Terry Slater, National Manager, Therapeutic Goods Administration

Dr Andina Faragher, Secretary, Genetic Manipulation Advisory Committee

Ms Andrea Matthews, Partner, Matthews Pegg Consulting, Legal/Policy Adviser to IOGTR

Dr Sue Meek, Executive Director, Science and Technology, Department of Commerce and Industry, Western Australia

Mr Denzil Scrivens, Acting Director, Economic Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Queensland

Mr Peter Cronin, Principal Policy Officer, Economic Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Queensland

Tuesday, 22 August 2000 at 9.10 am, Ballroom 4, Stamford Grand Hotel, Moseley Square, Glenelg, Adelaide

South Australian Farmers Federation

Mr Gary Burgess, Vice-Chair, GMO Task Force

Heritage Seed Curators Australia Inc

Mr Bill Hankin, Vice-President

Ms Leila Huebner

Professor Richard Roush, Director, Cooperative Research Centre for Weed Management

Consumer's Association of South Australia

Mrs Elaine Attwood, Food Policy Officer, and National Adviser, Consumers Affairs, National Council of Women of Australia

Aventis CropScience Pty Ltd

Mr Oliver Duroni, Managing Director

Ms Naomi Stevens, Public & Government Affairs Manager

Mr George Brownbill, Government Relations Consultant, Acil Consulting

Wednesday, 23 August 2000 at 9.10 am, Antarctic Cooperative Research Centre Centenary Building, University of Tasmania, Hobart

Organic Federation of Australia Inc

Mr Scott Kinnear, Chairperson

Mr Tony Scherer, Member

GE-Free Tasmania

Mr Greg Whitten

Mr Andrew Macintosh

Ms Georgia Miller

Serve-Ag Pty Ltd

Mr Buz Green, Chief Executive

Tasmanian Alkaloids Pty Ltd

Mr Brian Hartnett, Managing Director

Tasmanian Government

Department of Primary Industries, Water and Environment

Hon David Llewellyn, Minister for Primary Industries, Water and Environment

Mr Glenn Appleyard, General Manager, Food, Agriculture and Fisheries Division

Mr Rodney Gobbey, Director, Food Quality and Safety

Ms Marion March, Policy Analyst, Food Quality and Safety

Mr Carl Fulford-Smith, Senior Policy Analyst, Department of Premier and Cabinet

Thursday, 24 August 2000 at 9.10 am, Conference Room, CSIRO Biomolecular Research Institute, 343 Royal Parade, Parkville, Melbourne

Australian Biotechnology Association

Dr David Tribe, Vice President and Director

National Genetic Awareness Alliance

Ms Margaret Jackson, Convenor

Ms Maureen Minchin, President Victorian Branch, Australian Lactation Consultants Association

AWB Ltd

Mr Gerard McMullen, Manager, Quality & Assurance

Mr Andrew McConville, Government Relations Manager

Australian Conservation Foundation

Mr Michael Kerr, Legal Adviser, ACF

ACF GeneEthics Network

Mr Bob Phelps, Director

Florigene Ltd and Nugrain Pty. Ltd

Dr Michael Dalling, Director, Florigene, Director Nugrain

Friday, 25 August 2000 at 9.05 am, Senate Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House, Canberra

Australian Centre for Environmental Law

Mr Donald Anton, Director

Avcare Ltd.

Mr Claude Gauchat, Executive Director

Mr Colin Sharpe, Director, Scientific & Regulatory Affairs (Crop Production)

Dr William Blowes, Member, Biotechnology Committee – Avcare, and Monsanto

Mr George Brownbill, Government Relations Consultant, ACIL Consulting

Mr Leo Hyde, Research & Development Manager, DuPont (Australia) Pty Ltd

Dr Matt Cahill, Regulatory Specialist, Dow AgroSciences Aust. Ltd

Mr Rowley Winten, Development Manager, Novartis CP Protection A/Asia Pty Ltd

Australian Food and Grocery Council

Dr Geoffrey Annison, Director, Scientific and Technical

Mr Tony Downer, Assistant Director, Scientific and Technical

CSIRO

Dr Paul Wellings, Deputy Chief Executive (responsible for CSIRO Environment and Natural Resources Alliance)

Dr Jim Peacock, Chief, CSIRO Plant Industry

Dr Mark Lonsdale, Program Leader, Weed Management, CSIRO Entomology

Dr Mikael Hirsch, Principal Adviser, CSIRO Environment and Natural Resources Alliance

Professor Adrian Gibbs

Molecular Genetics Group, Research School of Biological Sciences, Australian National University

Department of Health and Aged Care

Ms Elizabeth Cain, Head, Interim Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (IOGTR)

Mr Terry Slater, National Manager, Therapeutic Goods Administration

Dr Andina Faragher, Secretary, Genetic Manipulation Advisory Committee

Ms Andrea Matthews, Partner, Matthews Pegg Consulting, Legal/Policy Adviser to IOGTR

Dr Sue Meek, Executive Director, Science and Technology, Department of Commerce and Industry, Western Australia

Mr Denzil Scrivens, Acting Director, Economic Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Queensland