

## Joint Select Committee on the Christmas Island Tragedy

### Chair

Senator Gavin Marshall

**Deputy Chair** Mr Michael Keenan MP

### Members

Senator Michaelia Cash Mr Nick Champion MP Senator Trish Crossin Senator Steve Fielding Senator Sarah Hanson-Young Mr Ed Husic MP Mrs Louise Markus MP Mr Graham Perrett MP

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Secretary Joint Select Committee on the Christmas Island Tragedy PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

**Tel:** 02 6277 3521 **Fax:** 02 6277 5706

Email: christmasisland@aph.gov.au

### Interneta

www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/christ mas\_island\_ctte/

# Inquiry into the Christmas Island Tragedy

Date: Monday, 6 June 2011

**Time: 1:00pm** 

**Venue: Function Room** 

**Recreation Centre Christmas Island** 

1:00pm – 2:30pm	Australian Federal Police
	Mr Peter Swann, Officer in Charge of Christmas Island Superintendant Gavan Ryan, International Deployment Group Mr Peter Whowell, Manager Government Relations Mr James Watson, Manager Australian Peace & Stability Operations Centre
	<b>Australian Customs and Border Protection Service</b>
	Ms Marion Grant, Deputy Chief Executive Officer Mr Matthew Saunders, Customs Supervisor Mr Rodney O'Donnell, Director Enforcement Operations Western Region Mr Myles Picket, District Manager Christmas Island  Australian Defence Force  LCDR Mitchell Livingstone, Royal Australian Navy
2:30pm – 4:00pm	Department of Immigration and Citizenship
2.30pm – 4.00pm	TBC
4:00pm	Adjournment