Members of the Committee

The President of the Senate, Senator the Hon. John Hogg (Chairman) The Leader of the Government in the Senate, Senator the Hon. Chris Evans The Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, Senator the Hon. Eric Abetz Senator the Hon. John Faulkner Senator the Hon. Kate Lundy Senator Stephen Parry Senator the Hon. Nick Sherry Senator John Williams Senator Nick Xenophon

The Committee

The Standing Committee on Appropriations and Staffing, appointed under standing order 19, determines the amounts for inclusion in the parliamentary appropriation bills and reports to the Senate on its determinations prior to the Senate's consideration of those bills.

The Committee examines matters affecting the staffing and administration of the Department of the Senate, including proposals to vary the staffing structure, and other matters referred to it by the Senate. The Committee makes an annual report to the Senate on the operations of the Senate's appropriations and staffing and related matters (standing order 19(3)).

The Committee has the explicit capacity to scrutinise security funding and administration and to advise the President and the Senate as appropriate. Under a resolution of the Senate agreed to in 1987 the Committee also examines proposed changes in the structure and responsibilities of the parliamentary departments.

The Committee is chaired by the President and includes the Senate Leaders of the Government and the Opposition as *ex officio* members.

Secretary

James Warmenhoven Senate Table Office