Appendix 2

Public hearings and witnesses

Perth, Monday 30 April 2007

Western Australia Police

Division

Assistant Commissioner Wayne Gregson, Portfolio Head, Specialist Crime Portfolio Detective Superintendent Kim Porter, Divisional Superintendent, Organised Crime

Corruption and Crime Commission of Western Australia

Mr Mike Silverstone, Executive Director

Sellenger Centre for Research in Law, Justice and Policing, School of Law and Justice, Edith Cowan University

Associate Professor Margaret Campbell Mitchell, Director

Melbourne, Tuesday 1 May 2007

Professor Adam Crosbie Sutton (Private Capacity)

Mr Frank Costigan QC (Private Capacity)

Victoria Police

Detective Superintendent Richard Grant, Crime Strategy Group, Crime Department

Superintendent Frederick Johansen

Chief Commissioner Christine Nixon

Detective Superintendent Mark Porter, State Intelligence Division

Contemporary Europe Research Centre, University of Melbourne

Professor Leslie Templeman Holmes, Professor, Political Science; and Deputy Director

Brisbane, Thursday 7 June 2007

Mr Robert Bottom (Private Capacity)

Professor Roderic Broadhurst (Private Capacity)

Queensland Police Service

Detective Chief Superintendent Ross Barnett

Detective Inspector Peter Fleming

Detective Superintendent Stephan Gollschewski

Mr Brian Hay

Queensland Crime and Misconduct Commission

Mr Christopher Keen, Director, Intelligence

Ms Elizabeth Foulger, Manager, Intelligence

Sydney, Friday 8 June 2007

New South Wales Police Force

Commissioner Ken Moroney, Commissioner

Assistant Commissioner Graeme Morgan, Commander, State Crime Command

Deputy Commissioner Andrew Scipione, Deputy Commissioner

Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC)

Ms Jane Atkins, General Manager, Regulatory Policy

Mr Thomas Story, Executive General Manager

Mr John Visser, General Manager, Intelligence

Advocates for Survivors of Child Abuse (ASCA)

Mr Michael Salter, Director

Canberra, Thursday 5 July 2007

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Keith Holland, First Assistant Secretary, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Dr Dianne Heriot, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Division

Mr Craig Harris, Assistant Secretary, National Law Enforcement Policy Branch

Ms Jamie Lowe, Assistant Secretary, AusCheck

Mr Lionel Markey, Director, Telecommunications and Surveillance Law Branch

Ms Catherine Smith, Assistant Secretary, Telecommunications and Surveillance Law Branch

Mr Andrew Walter, Acting Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law Branch

Mr Alexander Webling, Senior Adviser E-Security Strategy, Critical Infrastructure Protection Branch

Australian Taxation Office

Ms Jennie Granger, Second Commissioner of Taxation

Mr Michael Monaghan, Deputy Commissioner

Mr Christopher Barlow, Assistant Commissioner, Serious Non Compliance

Police Federation of Australia

Mr Mark Burgess, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Federal Police

Commissioner Mick Keelty, Commissioner

Deputy Commissioner John Lawler, Deputy Commissioner, National Security

CrimTrac

Mr Ben McDevitt, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Peter Bickerton, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Operations

Mr Matthew Cahill, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Support

Ms Nicole McLay, Chief Financial Officer

Australian Institute of Criminology

Dr Toni Makkai, Director

Mr Rob McCusker, Research Analyst, Transnational Crime

Australian Customs Service

Ms Marion Grant, Acting Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Border Enforcement
Mr Brian Hurrell, Acting National Director, Enforcement and Investigations Division
Mr Jeffrey Buckpitt, Acting National Director, Intelligence and Targeting Division

Canberra, Friday 6 July 2007

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr Paul Retter, Executive Director, Office of Transport Security

Mr Graham Hanna, Section Head, Identity Security Section, Supply Chain and Information Security Branch, Office of Transport Security

Mr Darren Crombie, General Manager, Aviation Security Operations

Mr Jeremy Parkinson, Director, Maritime Security Policy

Mr Jonathan Wraith, Section Head, Supply Chain Security

South Australia Police

Mr Tony Harrison, Assistant Commissioner, Crime Service

Australian Crime Commission

Mr Alastair Milroy, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Michael Outram, Executive Director, Operational Strategies

Mr William Boulton, Examiner

Mr Peter Brady, Senior Legal Advisor

Mr Jeff Pope, General Manager, Commodities Methodologies and Activities

Mr Edward Purrer, Acting Chief Information Officer

Canberra, Monday 13 August 2007

CrimTrac

Mr Ben McDevitt, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Peter Bickerton, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Operations

Mr Matthew Cahill, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Support

Ms Nicole McLay, Chief Financial Officer