APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

6 November 2000, CANBERRA

National Crime Authority: Mr Marshall Irwin, Member Mr Adrien Whiddett, General Manager, Operations

4 December 2000, CANBERRA

Attorney General's Department: Mr Karl Alderson, Acting Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law Branch Ms Sandra Ellims, Assistant Secretary, Law Enforcement Branch, Criminal Justice Division Mr Chris Hodges, Principal Legal Officer, International Branch, Criminal Justice Division Mr Peter Treyde, Principal Legal Officer, Information Security Law Division Australian Customs Service: Mrs Marion Grant, National Manager, Border Operations Branch Mr Peter Naylor, National Manager Investigations Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions: Mr Geoffrey Gray, Senior Assistant Director Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre: Ms Elizabeth Montano, Director CrimTrac Agency: Mr Kim Terrell, Acting Chief Executive Officer Australian Federal Police:

Mr Mark Walters, Acting Director, Technical Operations

2 March 2001, CANBERRA

Commonwealth Ombudsman: Mr Frederick Bluck, Director, Policy Mr Philip Moss, Senior Assistant Ombudsman

Australian Information Industry Association: Mr Robert Durie, Executive Director Ms Bridget Larsen, Legal and e-Policy Manager Mr Murray Rankin, Representative

Australian Bureau of Criminal Intelligence: Mr Peter Edwards, Deputy Director Mr Neville Hewett, Manager, Information Services Mr Mark Holmes, Manager, National Intelligence Association Dr Grant Wardlaw, Director

Australian Institute of Criminology:

Dr Peter Grabosky, Deputy Director Dr George Urbas, Research Analyst, Sophisticated Crime Program

26 March 2001, CANBERRA

Victoria Police:

Detective Inspector Stephen Berriman, Officer in Charge, Technical Support Unit Inspector Stephen Leane, Manager, Legislative Review and Proposals Unit

Privacy New South Wales: Dr John Gaudin, Legal and Policy Officer

Internet Industry Association: Ms Mary-Jane Salier, General Counsel, UUNET and OzEmail Internet

2 April 2001, CANBERRA

Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, New South Wales: Mr Nicholas Cowdery QC, Director of Public Prosecutions

Australian Federal Police:

Ms Audrey Fagan, Acting Deputy Commissioner

Mr Michael Keelty, Acting Commissioner

Mr Gordon Williamson, Director, Technical Operations

Australian Securities and Investments Commission: Mr Keith Inman, Director, Electronic Enforcement Ms Nicole Pyner, Senior Lawyer, Enforcement Coordination