Trade Sub-Committee



Chair: Ms Janelle Saffin MP Deputy: Hon Bruce Scott MP

Public hearing into Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill

The Trade Sub-Committee of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade will conduct a public hearing for its inquiry into the Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill 2011 on Wednesday, 9 May 2012.

The Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill aims to reduce the harmful environmental, social and economic impacts of illegal logging by restricting the importation and sale of illegally logged timber products in Australia.

The Sub-Committee's inquiry is specifically focussed on the following terms of reference:

Concern over the international implications of the bill which have been expressed by Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea in their submissions to the Senate Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport Legislation Committee inquiry.

(House of Representatives Selection Committee, Report No. 49)

Sub-Committee Chair, Ms Janelle Saffin, said that the Sub-Committee would pay particular attention during the hearing to the concerns of a number of countries over the implications of the proposed legislation.

'While these countries have expressed support for the intent of the bill, there remain outstanding concerns that have been outlined in submissions to the inquiry. The Sub-Committee has therefore invited each of the countries named above to appear at this public hearing' Ms Saffin said.

The program for the hearing is:

Wednesday, 9 May 2012 Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House, Canberra

11.40am Roundtable hearing with representatives of the Governments of Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia,

Papua New Guinea and New Zealand

1.00pm Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry and Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Proceedings will be broadcast (audio only) on: http://www.aph.gov.au/News_and_Events/Watch_Parliament

Further information about the Sub-Committee's inquiry is available at: http://www.aph.gov.au/jfadt.

For media comment: please contact the Sub-Committee Chair, Ms Janelle Saffin on (02) 6621 9909 (Electorate Office) or (02) 6277 4323 (Parliament House)

For further information: please contact the Committee secretariat on (02) 6277 2313 or via email at jscfadt@aph.gov.au.

Telephone: 02 6277 2313 Facsimile: 02 6277 2221 Email: jscfadt@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jfadt

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600