QUESTION TAKEN ON NOTICE

BUDGET ESTIMATES HEARINGS: 27 MAY 2010

IMMIGRATION AND CITIZENSHIP PORTFOLIO

(103) Program 4.2: Onshore Detention Network

Senator Barnett (L&C 76) asked:

Provide a copy of the checklist document that is used when communicating with key stakeholder groups when establishing detention facilities or using a local city motel, for example?

Answer:

The Department of Immigration and Citizenship has established different types of detention facilities around Australia to manage the orderly entry and stay of non-citizens in Australia.

The Minister has the power under section 273(1) of the *Migration Act 1958*, to designate a facility as an Immigration Detention Centre (IDC), most recently the Curtin IDC. The Minister also has the power to designate Alternative Places of Detention, such as Immigration Residential Housing and Immigration Transit Accommodation.

To provide the suitable accommodation for these people in detention, the Minister and delegates of the Immigration Minister can approve places of detention pursuant to subparagraph (b)(v) of the definition of "immigration detention" in subsection 5(1) of the *Migration Act 1958*.

The Department occasionally uses commercial accommodation for people in immigration detention, such as local city motels, where this is considered appropriate in order to address their particular vulnerabilities. People in detention being accommodated in Alternative Places of Detention are considered a low security risk and have had health clearances. They are mainly family groups and they remain in detention while their visa claims are being processed.

When a new facility is opened, the relevant stakeholders in the community are engaged in line with the Departmental stakeholder guideline handbook. A copy of the stakeholder guidelines is available online at http://www.immi.gov.au/about/stakeholder-engagement/pdf/stakeholder-engagement-practitioner-handbook.pdf

Relevant community stakeholders consulted by the Department, may include the State Police, State Health Authorities, State Education Authorities, Local Shire President or Mayor and Community Consultative Groups.