QUESTION TAKEN ON NOTICE

ADDITIONAL ESTIMATES HEARING: 13 FEBRUARY 2012

IMMIGRATION AND CITIZENSHIP PORTFOLIO

(AE12/0226) Program 1.1: Visa and Migration

Senator Cash asked:

Provide a list of all state councils and local governments consulted in each state/territory with respect to Regional Migration Agreements (RMAs)?

Answer.

The Department conducted consultation with the following state councils and local governments in each state/territory regarding RMAs:

Northern Territory:

- Department of Business and Employment
- Northern Territory Regional Development Australia Committee

Queensland:

- Department of Employment, Economic Development and Innovation
- Queensland Treasury
- Gladstone Regional Council
- Far Central West Regional Development Australia Committee
- Darling Downs and South West Regional Development Australia Committee

Western Australia:

- Department of Training and Workforce Development
- State Migration Centre, Small Business Development Corporation
- Goldfields Esperance Development Commission
- Kimberley Development Commission
- Shire of Esperance Council
- Shire of Wyndham and East Kimberley
- Western Australian Local Government Association
- Kimberley Regional Development Australia Committee
- Wheatbelt Regional Development Australia Committee
- Pilbara Regional Development Australia Committee
- Goldfields Esperance Regional Development Australia Committee
- Mid West Gascoyne Regional Development Australia Committee

South Australia:

- Department of Trade and Economic Development
- Department for Manufacturing, Innovation, Trade, Resources and Energy

Victoria:

• Department of Business and Innovation

New South Wales:

• Department of State & Regional Development

Australian Capital Territory:

• ACT Treasury

Tasmania:

• Department of Economic Development, Tourism and the Arts