## **QUESTION TAKEN ON NOTICE**

**ADDITIONAL ESTIMATES HEARING: 12 February 2007** 

IMMIGRATION AND CITIZENSHIP PORTFOLIO

(36) Output 1.1: Migration and Temporary Entry

Senator Bartlett (L&CA 27) asked:

Provide the country breakdown for the Working Holiday visa and the Work and Holiday Maker visa.

Answer:

Australia currently has reciprocal Working Holiday (subclass 417) visa arrangements with 19 countries and regions. These are with: Belgium, Canada, the Republic of Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) of the People's Republic of China, the Republic of Ireland, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Taiwan and the United Kingdom.

Australia also has reciprocal Work and Holiday (subclass 462) visa arrangements with five countries. These are with Iran, Thailand, Chile, Turkey and Bangladesh. The arrangements with Turkey and Bangladesh are expected to come into effect once legal proceedings in Turkey and Bangladesh have been completed.