Department/Agency: Department of the Senate

**Topic:** Board Appointments

Senator: Senator Ryan

**Question reference number: 23** 

Type of question: Written

## **Ouestion**

1. List all of the boards within this portfolio, including: board title, terms of appointment, tenure of appointment and members.

#### **Answer**

While the Senate Department is not part of a portfolio, there are two boards which are relevant to this question as follows:

Under section 65A of the *Parliamentary Service Act 1999*, a Security Management Board is established. The function of the Board is to provide advice as required to the Presiding Officers on security policy, and the management of security measures, for Parliament House.

Board members continue until their appointment is revoked. The Board consists of:

- the Secretary of the joint Department, or an SES employee of that department nominated by the Presiding Officers in writing; and
- an SES employee of the Department of the Senate nominated by the President of the Senate in writing;
  and
- an SES employee of the Department of the House of Representatives nominated by the Speaker of the House of Representatives in writing; and
- the Parliamentary Budget Officer, or an SES employee of the Parliamentary Budget Office nominated by the Presiding Officers in writing.

In addition, in November 2011, the Presiding Officers established the Parliament House Heritage Advisory Board.

The function of the Board is to provide oversight and advice to the Presiding Officers on the heritage management of Parliament House by making recommendations to the Presiding Officers on heritage policies and major heritage issues and providing advice and guidance to the Parliamentary departments (on behalf of the Presiding Officers) on heritage issues and policy. The Board also provides practical heritage advice and innovative solutions to a range of Parliament House users while enabling core business to continue, and provides direction for capital works planning to ensure that strategic heritage issues are adequately addressed.

The Board consists of:

• The Secretary of DPS, or an employee nominated by the Secretary;

- An employee of the Department of the Senate nominated by the Clerk of the Senate; and
- An employee of the Department of the House of Representatives nominated by the Clerk of the House of Representatives.

# 2. What is the gender ratio on each board and across the portfolio?

### Answer

The current gender ratio of the Security Management Board is two female members and two male members.

The current gender ratio of the Heritage Advisory Board is two female members and one male member.

# 3. Please detail any board appointments for this financial year to date.

### Answer

The current appointments to the Security Management Board are:

- Ms Carol Mills (Secretary, DPS, Chair);
- Ms Robyn McClelland (Serjeant-at-Arms);
- Mr Brien Hallett (Usher of the Black Rod); and
- Mr Mathew Fox (representing the Parliamentary Budget Office).

The current appointments to the Heritage Advisory Board are:

- Ms Carol Mills (Secretary, DPS, Chair);
- Ms Robyn McClelland (Serjeant-at-Arms); and
- Mr Brien Hallett (Usher of the Black Rod).