## **Standing Committee on Finance and Public Administration**

ANSWER TO QUESTION ON NOTICE

Finance and Administration Portfolio

**Department of Finance and Administration** 

Supplementary Budget Estimates Hearing - October 2006

Question: F48 Outcome 3, Output 3.1 Topic: Ministerial Offices located outside Capital Cities Hansard Page: F&PA 81

## Senator Faulkner asked:

How many ministerial offices currently are outside a state or territory capital city? I would appreciate that information, if you could provide it for me. I would like you to double-check for me whether there are any specific guidelines or any guidance at all that relates to such an establishment outside a capital city. I suspect there is not any, but you can let me know if that is the case. I think that you have taken on notice for me a list of those other ministerial offices that are outside capital cities.

## Answer:

Five combined Ministerial/Electorate offices are established outside a state or territory capital city. In addition, the Minister for Community Services has such an approval, but the office is not yet established.

A Minister may, with the approval of the Special Minister of State, establish a combined Ministerial/Electorate office within his or her electorate.

The five combined Ministerial/Electorate offices located outside a state or territory capital city are those of the Minister for Foreign Affairs in Mount Barker, the Minister for Small Business and Tourism in Gisborne, the Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources in Toowoomba, the Minister for Trade in Maryborough and the Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs in Caboolture.