## Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee

## ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Finance and Administration Portfolio

PSS & CSS Boards

Supplementary Estimates Hearings - 1 November 2005

Question: F7 Outcome 1, Output 1.1 Topic: CSS Benefits Payments - Charles Darwin University Hansard Page: F&PA 47

## Senator Crossin asked:

Can you explain to me what the situation is with people who are employed at the University College of the Northern Territory, then renamed Northern Territory University and now named Charles Darwin University? Is it the same university? It has had three different names over the last 12 years.

## Answer:

This organisation was initially the University Planning Authority which, in 1986, was then split into the University College of the Northern Territory and the Menzies School of Health Research.

The University College of the Northern Territory then amalgamated with the Darwin Institute of TAFE in January 1989 to form the Northern Territory University.

In November 2003 the Northern Territory University amalgamated with the Centralian College to form the current Charles Darwin University.