Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee

ANSWERS TO OUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Budget Supplementary Hearings 2002-2003, 20 November 2002

Question: PM40

Outcome 1, Output 2.2

Topic: Women's Indigenous Advisory Group

Direct on Notice

Senator Crossin asked: In relation to the Women's Indigenous Advisory Group, who are the 12 members of this Advisory group? Where are they based? Where do they meet? How often do they meet? What are the priorities of this Women's Indigenous Advisory group? Are they involved and do they advise on the Partnerships Against Domestic Violence (PADV) program?

Answer: The 10 members of IWAG and their home base are as follows:

- Professor Maryann Bin-Sallik DARWIN, NT
- Ms Josephine Bowie-Perry STUART via WYALLA, SA
- Ms Murial Cadd PRESTON, VIC
- Ms Helen Corbett INNALOO, WA
- Ms Lola Forester SYDNEY, NSW
- Ms Josephine Geia PALM ISLAND
- Ms Barbara McCarthy CASUARINA, NT
- Ms Monica Morgan BARMAH, VIC
- Ms Rosemary Smith LENAH VALLEY, TAS
- Ms Tammi Williams CLAYFIELD, QLD
- Ms Terri Janke of Sydney and Ms Jackie Huggins of Brisbane have resigned from the group.

The IWAG members meet twice a year in Canberra. Additional meetings are scheduled as required. Representatives of the group attended the National Indigenous Women's Gathering at the Ministerial Conference on the Status of Women held in Darwin in June 2002.

IWAG's function is to provide advice to the Minister and OSW and, where appropriate, to develop strategies that complement OSW's goals and priorities. This Advisory Group provides advice to Government to help to ensure that programmes and policies address the needs of Indigenous women.

The IWAG group has not provided advice to the PADV Programme. Much of the PADV development work was complete prior to the formation of IWAG. PADV assembled a separate Indigenous advisory group for this work.

OSW staff held discussions with IWAG on the PADV initiative at its March meeting in Canberra.