Senate Finance and Public Administration Standing Committee

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Budget Estimates for 2009-10 (May 2009)

Prime Minister and Cabinet portfolio

Department/Agency: Office of the Official Secretary to the Governor-General Outcome/Output Group:

Outcome 1: The Governor-General is enabled to perform the constitutional, statutory, ceremonial and public duties associated with the appointment.

Output Group 1.1 – Support of the Governor-General,

Output Group 1.2 – Administration of the Australian Honours and Awards system

Topic: Africa trip

Senator: FORSHAW

Question reference number: PM3

Type of question: Hansard, 25 May p.54

Mr Brady—Absolutely. The Governor-General met heads of state and heads of government. She referred to Australia's commitment multilaterally and, in the course of those conversations, the UNSC bid was made mention of. But the overwhelming part of the trip was spent in community functions which she was the patron of or in developing business and people-to-people links.

Senator FORSHAW—Will you provide a list?

Mr Brady—I will provide detail.

Senator FORSHAW—And in that can you list the names of those heads of state and government leaders and other dignitaries that she met with.

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 10 July 2009

Number of pages: 2

Answer: In addition to the summary of the program tabled during Estimates, the following is a list of the nine Heads of State; five Heads of Government; and other dignitaries with whom the Governor-General met during the Africa trip. Entries in italics represent ministers in attendance during various parts of the program.

Mauritius

- His Excellency the Right Honourable Sir Anerood Jugnauth GCSK KCMG QC, President of the Republic
- o Dr the Honourable Navinchandra Ramgoolam GCSK, Prime Minister
- o Dr the Honourable Arvin Boolell, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade
- The Honourable Paul Raymond Berenger GCSK, Leader of the Opposition

Namibia

- o His Excellency Hifikepunye Pohamba, President of the Republic
- o The Right Honourable Nahas Angula, Prime Minister
- o His Excellency Dr Sam Nujoma, Founding President
- o The Honourable Dr Libertina Amathila MP, Deputy Prime Minister
- o The Honourable Marco Hausiku MP, Minister for Foreign Affairs

Zambia

- o His Excellency Mr Rupiah Banda, President of the Republic
- The Honourable Catherine Namugala MP, Minister for Tourism, Environment and Natural Resources
- o Dr Kenneth Kaunda, Founding President
- o The Honourable Kabinga J. Pande MP, Minister for Foreign Affairs
- o The Honourable Geoffrey Lungwangwa MP, Minister for Education
- The Honourable Michael Kaingu MP, Minister for Community Development and Social Services
- o The Honourable Gabriel Namulambe MP, Minister for Presidential Affairs

Botswana

- o His Excellency Lieutenant General Ian Khama, President of the Republic
- o His Honour Lieutenant General Mompati Merafhe, Vice President of the Republic
- o The Honourable Patrick Balopi MP, Speaker of the National Assembly
- o The Honourable Phandu Skelemani, Minister for Foreign Affairs
- o The Honourable Dr Margaret Nasha, Minister for Local Government
- o The Honourable Otsweletse Moupo MP, Leader of the Opposition
- o Judge Unity Dow, High Court Judge

South Africa

o Mr Nelson Mandela AC, Former President/Nobel Peace Laureate

Mozambique

- o His Excellency Mr Armando Guebuza, President of the Republic
- o The Right Honourable Ms Luisa Dias Diogo, Prime Minister
- o The Honourable Oldermiro Baloi, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation
- o The Honourable Victoria Diogo, Minister for Public Service

Ethiopia

- o His Excellency Ato Girma Wolde-Giorgis, President of the Republic
- o His Excellency Ato Meles Zenawi, Prime Minister
- o His Excellency Jean Ping, Chairperson of the African Union Commission

Kenya

- His Excellency the Honourable Mwai Kibaki CGH MP, President of the Republic
- o The Right Honourable Raila Odinga EGH MP, Prime Minister

Tanzania

- o His Excellency Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, President of the Republic
- o Dr Gertrude Mongella, President of the Pan-African Parliament
- o The Honourable Batilda Salha Buriani, Minister of State for the Environment

Sevchelles

- o His Excellency Mr James Michel, President of the Republic
- o The Honourable Wavel Ramkalawan, Leader of the Opposition
- o Mr Joel Morgan, Minister of Environment, Natural Resources and Transport