Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Finance and Administration Portfolio Australian Electoral Commission Budget Estimates Hearing - May 2007

Ouestion: F42

Outcome 2, Output 2.1.4

Topic: Showings of AEC advertisements in regional Australia

Hansard Page: F&PA 15-16

Senators Wong and Brown asked:

Mr Pickering—Senator, I have an update for your information. We have been able to ascertain some details in relation to the number of showings of the advertisements. I cannot go down to the detail that I think you would be interested in. In broad terms, for the first two weeks on free-to-air television the advertisements will show in Sydney 102 times, in Melbourne 92 times and in Brisbane 99 times. That is all I can give you...

Senator WONG—There must be a non sequitur there, but I cannot think of one right now. In two weeks they will show 102 times in Sydney, 92 times in Melbourne and 99 times in Brisbane, and no-one can tell me about Adelaide and no-one can tell Senator Brown about Hobart.

Mr Pickering—We will take it on notice.

Mr Campbell—We might have those numbers before we break.

Senator WONG—If I could give you some advice, Mr Campbell: I would really get those figures on the public record soon.

Mr Campbell—We will see if we can get them before we rise.

Senator BOB BROWN—I would add regional Australia.

Answer:

The number of times the ads will run on free-to-air television in the first two weeks in Adelaide is 77 times.

The number of times the ads will run on free-to-air television in the first two weeks in Hobart is 65 times. Hobart is part of the aggregated Tasmanian market.

The average number of times the ads will run on free-to-air television in the first two weeks in regional Australia is 84 times. This can be broken down for each regional television market (including the whole of Tasmania and Darwin as regions) as follows:

Northern NSW: 111

Southern NSW: 100

Regional VIC (includes Albury): 98 Regional QLD (up the seaboard): 98

Whole of TAS: 65

Griffith: 71 Mildura: 68

Central Australia (excludes Adelaide and Darwin but includes North West NSW and

Western Qld): 59 Regional WA: 75

Darwin: 99