Standing Committee on Finance and Public Administration

ANSWER TO QUESTION ON NOTICE

Additional Estimates Hearing – February 2010

Australian Electoral Commission

Finance and Deregulation Portfolio

Outcome 1, 2,3, Program AEC Topic: AEC divisional offices

Question reference number: F88

Type of Question: Written

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 26 March 2010

Number of Pages: 1

Senator Ronaldson asked:

- a) Do you have any plans for the amalgamation of Divisional Offices over the next 12 months?
- b) If so, which offices?

Answer:

Following the finalisation of the redistributions in NSW and Queensland, the AEC has reviewed the locations of divisional offices that are now outside their divisional boundaries. Due to the loss of one division in NSW, the office for the Division of Reid, located in Auburn, has been closed. The new office for the Division of Reid is located at Strathfield.

The Special Minister of State has approved the permanent co-location of the office for the new Division of Wright with the Ipswich office in Queensland (which comprises the Divisions of Blair and Oxley).

In NSW the Special Minister of State has approved the permanent co-location of the divisional office of Hughes with the divisional office of Cook in new premises in Miranda; and the permanent co-location of the divisional office of Watson with the divisional office of Blaxland in the Bankstown office (which currently comprises the divisional offices of Banks and Blaxland).

In accordance with s38(1) of the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918*, no offices will be co-located unless the Minister gives his written authority.