Senate Standing Committee on Education Employment and Workplace Relations

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Supplementary Budget Estimates 2010-2011

Outcome 2 - Schools

DEEWR Question No.EW0651_11

Senator Mason asked on 21/10/2010, Hansard page 52.

Question

NBN TIMEFRAME

Senator MASON—What sort of timetable is it? What sort of period are we talking about before the NBN gets through to schools and the election promise can finally be fulfilled? Dr Arthur—In terms of the time frame for the NBN, the timetable for the NBN, you would need to ask the communications department. Senator MASON—But you must have an idea, given you look after schools and are concerned about this, Dr Arthur. Surely you take a passing interest in it? Ms Paul—I would prefer to take the question of a timetable on notice because I would like to check with the department.

Answer

The Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (DEEWR) has consulted with the Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy in providing the following response:

The five NBNfirst release sites on the mainland which will test network design and construction techniques and provide services are located in Townsville (Qld), Armidale (NSW), Minnamurra & Kiama Downs (NSW), Willunga (SA) and in one capital city location of Brunswick (Melbourne). In the first half of 2011, construction is scheduled to commence at a further 19 sites across Australia (the second release sites, comprising of 14 new locations and five sites adjacent to existing first release sites). These are outlined in the table below. NBN Co will advise of further release sites and their location in future.

A number of schools (government and non-government) are located within the areas covered by the first and second release sites of the NBN. DEEWR estimates that up to 10 schools fall within the five first release locations, and up to 129 schools fall within the 19 second release locations.

Table 1: Second Release Sites

New locations	Adjacent Rollout Site
Bacchus Marsh, Victoria	Minnamurra/Kiama Downs, New South
	Wales
South Morang, Victoria	Armidale, New South Wales
Brisbane (Inner North), Queensland	Townsville, Queensland
Springfield Lakes, Queensland	Brunswick, Victoria
Toowoomba, Queensland	Willunga (nearby area of
	Seaford/McLaren Vale), South Australia
Riverstone, New South Wales	
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales	
Modbury, South Australia	
Prospect, South Australia	
Victoria Park, Western Australia	
Geraldton, Western Australia	
Mandurah, Western Australia	
Casuarina, Northern Territory	
Gungahlin, Australian Capital Territory	