EDUCATION, SCIENCE AND TRAINING

SENATE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE - QUESTIONS ON NOTICE 2005-2006 SUPPLEMENTARY ESTIMATES HEARING

Outcome: 1

Output Group: 1.1 – Funding for Schools

DEST Question No. E602_06

Senator Wong provided in writing.

Question:

For each of the 19 Australian Technical Colleges announced to date:

- a) What is the legal entity with which the Australian Government will be contracting?
- b) What is the length, or proposed length, of each contract?
- c) Who are the registered schools (government or non-government) providing the relevant year 11 and 12 curriculum, and are they all registered already?
- d) Who employs the teachers at each Australian Technical College?
- e) Who are the partner registered training providers providing the accredited training?
- f) What is the nature of the legal relationship between the organisation in (a), and the schools in (c) and the training providers in (e)?
- g) Has the curriculum authority in each State/Territory agreed to the curriculum in each ATC? If so, which ones? If not, what is the approval timing for those not approved?

Answer:

Australian Technical Colleges - details of the 19 announced so far.

a) Under the legislation, each Australian Technical College will have an 'approved authority' which will sign funding agreements with the Australian Government. Of the Colleges announced so far the following determinations have been issued for the approval of ATC authorities:

Australian Technical College	ATC Authority
Port Macquarie	Trustees of the Roman Catholic Church for the Diocese of Lismore
Gold Coast	Australian Technical College Gold Coast Limited
Gladstone	Australian Technical College Gladstone Region
Geelong	Barwon Technical College Limited
Bendigo	Australian Technical College Bendigo Limited
Bairnsdale/Sale	Australian Technical College Gippsland Incorporated
Northern Tasmania	St Patrick's College (*interim arrangement pending incorporation of new body)
Whyalla/Port Augusta	The Corporation of the City of Port Augusta (*interim arrangement pending incorporation of new body)

- b) All agreements will commence from their date of signing and end 31 December 2009.
- c) The Funding Agreement for the Australian Technical College Port Macquarie, was signed on 15 November 2005. The registered school providing the curriculum is an existing non-government school (St Joseph's Vocational College) with a new campus at Taree. Details for other Colleges will be available once Funding Agreements have been negotiated and finalised with the Colleges.

- d) There are a range of delivery models proposed including employing teachers directly and contracting out the provision of teaching services.
- e) For the Australian Technical College Port Macquarie, St Joseph's Vocational College is a registered training organisation. Details for other Colleges will be available once Funding Agreements have been negotiated and finalised with the Colleges.
- f) The approved authority for the Australian Technical College Port Macquarie manages the Vocational College the ATC will be based on. Details for other Colleges will be available once Funding Agreements have been negotiated and finalised with the Colleges.
- g) The Australian Technical College Port Macquarie will be delivering approved curriculum. Details for other Colleges will be available once Funding Agreements have been negotiated and finalised with the Colleges.