EDUCATION, SCIENCE AND TRAINING

SENATE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE - QUESTIONS ON NOTICE 2007-2008 BUDGET ESTIMATES HEARING

Outcome

DEST Question No. E169_08

Senator Crossin provided in writing.

Question:

Government is converting a total of 825 jobs presently filled by CDEP participants, to full time jobs. In a press release of 8th May (BUDB 17/07) Minister Bishop said 200 of these would be within Education with funding of \$15 million to DEST. When will DEST commence this program? Is there any plans at present which would show where these job conversions might be?

Answer:

Community Development Employment Projects

DEST commenced implementation of the *Building an Indigenous Workforce in Government Service Delivery – Education* initiative on 1 July 2007.

This initiative is seeking to assist those education and TAFE providers that were affected by the 1 July 2007 CDEP closures in the following urban and major regional centres:

- ACT
- New South Wales Sydney, Central Coast, Newcastle, Hunter region, Armidale, Cowra, Griffith, Tamworth, Wagga Wagga, Albury and Queanbeyan.
- Northern Territory Darwin.
- Queensland Rockhampton, Yeppoon including Capricorn Coast and Gladstone including Biloela and Mt Morgan, City of Cairns and district from Palm Cove to Edmonton, Townsville region comprising the cities of Townsville and Thuringowa, City of Toowoomba and surrounding district including Oakey and Crows Nest, Dalby and district, Warwick and district, City of Mackay and district, Brisbane including North Stradbroke Island, Beaudesert, Ipswich, Sunshine Coast and Gold Coast.
- South Australia Adelaide and Riverland and immediate surrounds, South East South Australia and immediate surrounds, Port Lincoln and immediate surrounds, Port Augusta, Whyalla, Port Pirie and immediate surrounds, Murray Bridge and immediate surrounds.
- Tasmania mainland.
- Victoria Halls Gap, Horsham, Ballarat, Shepparton, Wangaratta, Echuca, Wodonga, Melbourne, Geelong, Bairnsdale, Orbost, Lakes Entrance, Lake Tyers, Warrnambool, Portland, Hamilton, Heywood, Mortlake, Camperdown, Terang and Robinvale.
- Western Australia Port Hedland, South Hedland, Bunbury, Busselton, Collie, Australind, Kalgoorlie, Esperance, Perth metropolitan area, Broome, Albany and Geraldton.