Senate Standing Committee on Education Employment and Workplace Relations

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Additional Estimates 2010-2011

Agency - Australian Building and Construction Commission

DEEWR Question No.EW0689_11

Senator Ryan provided in writing.

Question

SHAM CONTRACTING INQUIRY

"Who wrote the terms of reference for the Sham Contracting Inquiry? Has the ABCC Commission met with the Minister about this issue, and if so how many times have they met? How many submissions has the ABCC received so far? Who chooses the 'expert panel of invited guests'? Are they paid for their time? Please list all participants and any organisations they are employed by or represent? How many people have filled in the online form to attend the Roundtables?"

Answer

The Office of the Australian Building and Construction Commissioner has provided the following response:

- 1. ABC Commissioner Johns (with assistance from Rachel Doyle S.C.).
- 2. No.
- 3. 20 as at 21 March 2011.
- 4. The ABC Commissioner, in consultation with the Group Chief Counsel and Executive Director, Legal (Central / West), who is the officer co-ordinating the review of submissions.
- 5. Panel members are not paid for their time.
- 6. A list of panel members is provided at Attachment A, together with the organisation they primarily represent. Panel members include academics and lawyers, who obviously have a wide range of associated organisations. As such, the Commission is not in a position to specify every organisation by which each person may be employed, or with which they may be associated.
- 7. 53 as at 21 March 2011

ATTACHMENT A

Canberra - 25 March 2011

Panel members for the Canberra Roundtable are listed below.

Mr Richard Calver	Master Builders Australia
Ms LieslCentenera	Office of Industrial Relations, ACT
Mr Mark Jackson	ATO - Australian Business Register
Mr John Leonard	ATO - Employer Obligations
Mr Lachlan Riches	Taylor & Scott
Mr Greg Robertson	Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman
Mr Cameron Roles	Australian National University

Sydney - 28 March 2011

Panel members for the Sydney Roundtable are listed below.

Mr Brett Bassett	Australian Securities and Investments Commission
Mr Geoffrey Bull	Australian Mines and Metals Association
Mr Joe Catanzariti	Clayton Utz

Mr Mark Davidson	Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman
Mr Mark Jackson	ATO - Australian Business Register
Mr John Leonard	ATO - Employer Obligations
Prof Ron McCallum	University of Sydney
Mr Brian Seidler	Master Builders Association of NSW

Melbourne - 4 April 2011

Panel members for the Melbourne Roundtable are listed below.

Mr Brett Bassett	Australian Securities and Investments Commission
Mr Mark Jackson	ATO - Australian Business Register
Mr Rick Knowles	Civil Contractors Federation
Mr John Leonard	ATO - Employer Obligations
Mr Daniel Mammone	Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Mr Greg Robertson	Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman
Prof Andrew Stewart	University of South Australia

Panel members for the Perth Roundtable are listed below.

Mr Mike Dodgson	Chamber of Commerce and Industry WA
Mr Nick Ellery	Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Mr Mark Jackson	ATO - Australian Business Register
Mr John Leonard	ATO - Employer Obligations
Mr Leigh Quealy	Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman
Mr Kim Richardson	Master Builders Western Australia
Mr Jonric Ridley	Chamber of Commerce and Industry WA

Brisbane - 18 April 2011

Panel members for the Brisbane Roundtable are listed below.

Mr Brett Bassett	Australian Securities and Investments Commission
Prof Breen Creighton	RMIT University
Mr John Crittall	Master Builders Association, Queensland

Mr Mark Jackson	ATO - Australian Business Register
Mr Russell Jacob	Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman
Mr John Leonard	ATO - Employer Obligations
Mr Vince Rogers	Blake Dawson