EDUCATION, SCIENCE AND TRAINING

SENATE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE - QUESTIONS ON NOTICE 2004-2005 ADDITIONAL ESTIMATES HEARING

Outcome: 2

Output Group: 2.4 – Funding for higher education.

DEST Question No. E668_05

Senator Crossin provided in writing.

Question:

The Indigenous Higher Education Advisory Council was formed back in May 2003. Is it correct that it has not met since then? If so why? When will it meet? When the Council was originally announced, it was foreshadowed that an annual conference would be held in Feb-March 2005. Will this still occur? Can you provide a list of those members on the Council? How does DEST intend to use this Committee in terms of getting advice on Indigenous Higher Education?

Answer:

The Indigenous Higher Education Advisory Council

Planning for an initial December meeting was impacted by the prorogation of Parliament for the 2004 election. It was decided to postpone the meeting until early in 2005. The inaugural meeting of the Council was held in Canberra, at Parliament House, on 16 March 2005.

It is expected that the Council will conduct its inaugural annual conference in September/October 2005.

The Council comprises 16 members, including:

Professor Marcia Langton (Chair) Ms Clair Andersen Ms Berice Anning Processor Veronica Arbon Profession Mary Ann Bin-Sallik Associate Professor Tracey Bunda Professor Jeannie Herbert Professor John Lester Mr Fred Maher Ms Jill Milroy Mr Samuel Nona Dr Mark Rose Mr Gary Shipp Ms Vicki-Ann Speechley-Golden Mr Roger Thomas Dr Maggie Walter

The Council will provide advice to the Minister for Education, Science and Training aimed at improving outcomes in higher education for Indigenous students and staff relating to their participation, progression and retention both in study and employment.