AGENCY/DEPARTMENT: INNOVATION, INDUSTRY, SCIENCE AND RESEARCH

TOPIC: National Research Infrastructure Committee

REFERENCE: Question on Notice (Hansard 1 June 2009, E128)

QUESTION No.: BI-99

1. Ms Lansdown-The National Research Infrastructure Committee... Senator ABETZ—They are giving advice on Super Science as well. Ms Lansdown-Yes. Senator ABETZ—Do they have a job description? Ms Lansdown-There are draft terms of reference. When they have their first meeting we will have a discussion on the draft terms of reference and send them back to the minister and have them agreed. Senator ABETZ—Are these draft terms of reference able to be made public so that there can be consultation about them and consideration and input by learned people that might be able to assist and advise? Mr Paterson—Are you asking if we are prepared to table them? Senator ABETZ—Yes. Mr Paterson—We have not got them with us, but we are happy to provide them on notice. 2. Senator ABETZ—That seems to have slid by me in the other Senate estimates that I have been involved in. Will that press release tell me the number of members and who they are? Ms Lansdown-Yes. Senator ABETZ—Does it tell us what their remuneration is? Ms Lansdown—No. Senator ABETZ-Can we be informed as to their remuneration and the basis on which they are remunerated? Would you like to take that on notice? Ms Lansdown—We can tell you now. The contract with the chair has already been signed. We are able discuss that. Senator ABETZ—Who is the chair? Ms Lansdown—John Ryan. On advice, we might provide this on notice.

ANSWER

DRAFT TERMS OF REFERENCE FOR THE NATIONAL RESEARCH INFASTRUCTURE COMMITTEE (NRIC)

Draft terms of reference outlining the role and functions of the National Research Infrastructure Committee (NRIC) are as follows;

Provide advice to the Department and Minister

The NRIC will provide advice to the Department and Minister on issues spanning all levels of investment in research infrastructure from institutional to national and landmark investments. Particular areas of focus would include national and landmark research infrastructure priorities, funding allocation and delivery arrangements.

The Committee will also provide advice on the interaction between investments in national research infrastructure across programs, such as the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS) and the Education Investment Fund (EIF). NRIC will provide advice on the coordination of these programs with investments provided through the Australian Research Council and the National Health and Medical Research Council programs.

The Committee will engage with the national research infrastructure landscape, including at state and territory levels and will be well placed to provide advice on the future enhancement and coordination of research infrastructure funding programs.

Contribute to strategic planning

The Committee will assist with strategic planning for research infrastructure across all categories of investment. In this role, NRIC will be required to undertake stakeholder consultation, as coordinated through the Department, to identify areas of infrastructure need and develop recommendations on future investment priorities. This will include consideration of coordinated investment in systemic and enabling technologies.

Provide implementation advice

The Committee will, as required participate in the assessment of specific proposals for research infrastructure funding and landmark infrastructure proposals. The Committee will also monitor the implementation of research infrastructure investments and advise on issues and developments as they arise. On this basis, the Committee will be well placed to contribute to the evaluation of relevant government programs, on request.

NATIONAL RESEARCH INFRASTRUCTURE COMMITTEE (NRIC) MEMBERSHIP

The establishment of the National Research Infrastructure Committee was announced by Minister Carr on 20 May 2009. Membership of the committee is as follows:

Chair

Mr John Ryan

Mr Ryan is a former Deputy Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism and the Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources.

Mr Ryan will be paid a daily rate of \$3,200 (plus GST) per day for his services as Chair. His period of appointment will be for an initial period of two years and the contract may be renewed if required.

The other members of the Committee are not being remunerated.

Ex-officio members

Professor Penny Sackett, Chief Scientist of Australia

Professor Margaret Sheil, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Research Council

Professor Warwick Anderson, Chief Executive Officer, National Health and Medical Research Council

Dr Megan Clark, Chief Executive Officer, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)

Ms Patricia Kelly, Deputy Secretary, Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

Other members

Professor Peter Hoj, Vice Chancellor, University of South Australia

Professor Edwina Cornish, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), Monash University

Professor Thomas Cochrane, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Technology, Information and Learning Support), Queensland University of Technology

Dr Suzanne Miller, Director, South Australian Museum

Professor Margaret Seares, former Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Western Australia