The Senate

Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Budget estimates 2011–12

© Commonwealth of Australia 2011
ISBN 978-1-74229-481-0
This document was printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra

Membership of the Committee

Members:

Senator Doug Cameron (ALP, NSW) (Chair) Senator Mary Jo Fisher (LP, SA) (Deputy Chair) Senator Scott Ludlam (AG, WA) Senator Anne McEwen (ALP, SA) Senator the Hon Judith Troeth (LP, VIC) Senator Dana Wortley (ALP, SA)

Committee Secretariat

Mr Stephen Palethorpe, Secretary Ms Jacquie Hawkins, Research Officer

Committee Address

Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3526

Fax: 02 6277 5818

Email: ec.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/ec_ctte/index.htm



Contents

Membership of the Committee	iii
Report to the Senate	
Introduction	1
Hearings	1
Questions on notice – date for response	1
Portfolio specific issues	2
Climate Change and Energy Efficiency	2
Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities	5
Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy	10
Acknowledgements	14
Appendix 1 – Public hearings agenda	17
Appendix 2 – Documents tabled	23

