Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Answers to questions on notice **Environment portfolio**

Question No: 177

Hearing: Additional Estimates

Outcome: Corporate

Programme: Policy and Communications Division

Topic: Portfolio wide - Freedom of Information designated decision makers

Hansard Page: N/A

Question Date: 7 March 2014

Question Type: Written

Senator Ludwig asked:

- 1. How many officers are currently designated decision makers under the Freedom of Information Act 1982 within the department?
- a) How does this differ to the number of officers designated as at 6 September 2013?
- 2. How many officers are currently designated decision makers under the Freedom of Information Act 1982 within the Minister's office?
- a) How does this differ to the number of officers designated as at 6 September 2013?
- 3. Of the officers that are designated decision makers under the Freedom of Information Act 1982 within the Ministers office, how many are seconded officers from the department?

Answer:

Department of the Environment

- 1. Please refer to the Department's response to the Supplementary Budget Estimates question 198 in November 2013. This response is unchanged.
- 2. Please refer to the Department's response to the Supplementary Budget Estimates question 199 in November 2013. This response is unchanged.
- 3. Please refer to the Department's response to the Supplementary Budget Estimates question 200 in November 2013. This response is unchanged.

Bureau of Meteorology

- 1. Nine.
 - a) No difference.
- 2. Not applicable.
- 3. Not applicable.

Clean Energy Regulator

- Currently, there are 13 persons who may make a decision under the Freedom of Information Act 1982 (the FOI Act) within the agency. These officers are comprised of the Chief Executive Officer and 12 other persons performing the duties of a Senior Executive Band 1 or 2 in the Clean Energy Regulator who are authorised in writing by the Chief Executive Officer to make a decision under the FOI Act.
 - a) There has been no change to the number of authorised decision-makers since 6 September 2013.
- Nil. There are no officers in the Minister's office who are authorised to make a decision on an FOI request made to the Clean Energy Regulator. No officers within the Minister's office have been authorised to make decisions on agency FOI requests since the Clean Energy Regulator's establishment on 2 April 2012.

3. There are no officers on secondment from the Clean Energy Regulator to the Minister's office who are authorised to make a decision under the FOI Act.

Climate Change Authority

- 1. There is currently one designated decision maker under the *Freedom of Information Act* 1982 within the Authority.
 - a) No change.
- 2. The Climate Change Authority has no currently designated decision makers under the *Freedom of Information Act 1982* within the Minister's office.
 - a) No change.
- 3. Not applicable.

Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority

- 1. Seven.
 - a) No difference, the numbers are the same.
- 2. There are no designated decision makers under the *Freedom of Information Act 1982* from the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority within the Minister's office.
- 3. Nil.

Murray-Darling Basin Authority

- 1. The Murray-Darling Basin Authority currently has 12 designated decision makers under the *Freedom of Information Act 1982* (Cth).
 - a) As at 6 September 2013, there were 11 designated decision makers.
- 2. None.
- 3. Not applicable.

National Water Commission

- The Commission currently has four designated decision makers under the FOI Act (being the Chief Executive Officer, two Senior Executive Band 1 officers and one Executive Level 2 officer).
 - a) No change.
- 2. The Commission has not delegated any decision making powers to officers in the Minister's office.
 - a) Not applicable.
- 3. Not applicable.

Sydney Harbour Federation Trust

There has been no change to the answer provided to this question through Supplementary Budget Estimates 2013 QON 198, 199 and 200.