Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Additional Estimates 2010-2011, February 2011

Answers to questions on notice

Climate Change and Energy Efficiency portfolio

Outcome: 1 Question No: 63

Program: 1.4

Division/Agency: ID

Topic: Cancun **Hansard Page EC:** Written

Senator Birmingham asked:

- 1. How many people were in the Government delegation that attended the United Nations Climate Change Conference in Cancun, including any from other departments or agencies and Ministerial offices?
- 2. Please identify each person and their role(s).

Answer:

- 1. The official delegation to the United Nations Climate Change Conference in Cancun comprised of 41 people:
 - the Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, the Hon Greg Combet, and two ministerial staff;
 - the Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, the Hon Mark Dreyfus;
 - 32 Australian Government officials (three Mexico-based Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) staff and 29 officials from the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, DFAT, AusAID and the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism); and
 - five state government representatives (four from South Australia and one from Victoria).
- 2. Attachment A outlines those on the official delegation and their roles and responsibilities in Cancun. A list of acronyms is provided under the delegation list.

ATTACHMENT A

	Name	Organisation	Role
1	Greg Combet		Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
2	Mark Dreyfus		Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
3	Rod Hilton	Minister's Office	Minister's Deputy Chief of Staff, Minister's Media Contact
4	Kristin Tilley	Minister's Office	Minister's Senior Adviser
5	Blair Comley	DCCEE	Deputy Secretary
6	Louise Hand	DCCEE	HoD, UG Chair, AWG-LCA, CA overview, cable
7	Robert Owen-Jones	DCCEE	AHoD, Bureau, SBI Chair, KP overview, mitigation, CG, AWG-LCA and AWG-KP work programs
8	Annemarie Watt	DCCEE	International aviation and maritime emissions (bunkers), methodological issues acceptance of CCS in CDM, SBSTA coordinator, IPCC guidelines, Media Liaison, Minister's Office Daily Briefings
9	Kushla Munro	DCCEE	Finance, markets and REDD overview
10	Anitra Cowan	DCCEE	Principal Legal Advisor, AWG-LCA focus, KP, UG & CG support
11	Andrew Ure	DCCEE	Shared vision, Role of observer organisations, UG and Annex 1 coordination, UG Chair assistance
12	Erika Oord	DCCEE	REDD
13	Sally Truong	DCCEE	Finance and markets, Support for Mr Comley
14	Tracey Mackay	DCCEE	SBI coordinator, MRV negotiations in AWG-LCA, developing country mitigation, National communications in SBI
15	Karen Gould	DCCEE	KP targets, developed country mitigation, Kazakhstan target, Belarus amendment

16	Tamara Curll	DCCEE	KP legal advisor, privileges and immunities for individuals serving on constituted bodies, compliance (including Saudi proposal), Bureau Support
17	Katherine Lake	DCCEE	Finance and markets legal adviser, REDD+, Bunkers
18	Jessica Allen	DCCEE	Adaptation (AWG-LCA, SBI and SBSTA), Nairobi Work program, Adaptation Fund, LDC in SBI, vulnerability, role of observer organisations,
19	Pauline Kennedy	DCCEE	Markets in AWG-LCA and AWG-KP, International transaction log, Support for Mr Comley, SBSTA Market items, CMP items
20	Jennifer Mason	DCCEE	Impacts or response measures, spillover effects, technology transfer, UG and CG support
21	Fiona McKergow	DCCEE	Logistics and Delegation Manager, Meeting support
22	Maurice Oldham	DCCEE	Bilaterals, stakeholders, Bunkers, HoD's daily program
23	Louise Yabsley	DCCEE	Ministerial support for Minister and Parliamentary Secretary, logistics, UG support
24	Inga Davis	DCCEE	LULUCF, land sector negotiations
25	Julia Feeney	DFAT	General Policy Advice
26	Kelly Edwards	DFAT	Bilaterals, Assistance to Mr Owen-Jones in his capacity as Chair of SBI, Bilaterals assistance
27	Ian Turland	DFAT	Director, Trade and Environment Section - trade- related issues for DFAT.
28	Alison Carrington	DFAT	Elections, UNFCCC Budget
29	Katrina Cooper	DFAT POST	Ambassador, Ministerial Support
30	James Yeomans	DFAT POST	Support and Liaison
31	Suzanne Stein	DFAT POST	Consular Support
32	Richard Miles	DRET	Technology Lead

33	Jill McCarthy	DRET	Technology support
34	Katherine Vaughn	AusAID	SBI Matters relating to the LDCs (Co-Chair), SBI LDCF (Co-Chair), AWG-LCA capacity-building (Lead), SBI capacity-building (Lead)
35	Jean-Bernard Carrasco	AusAID	SBI Matters relating to the LDCs (Lead), SBI LDCF (Lead)
36	Diane Barclay	AusAID	SBI fourth review of the financial mechanism (GEF) (Lead), SBI Report of the GEF (Lead), SBI Assessment of the SCCF (Lead), CMP Report of the Adaptation Fund Board (Lead), CMP Review of the Adaptation Fund (Lead)
37	Michael Rann		Premier, South Australian Government
38	Nicolas Alexandrides		South Australian Government
39	Timothy O'Loughlin		South Australian Government
40	Rik Morris		South Australian Government
41	Christopher Hotham		Victorian Government

Acronyms		
AHoD	Assistant Head of Delegation	
AWG-KP	Ad Hoc Working Group on Further Commitments for Annex I Parties under the Kyoto Protocol	
AWG- LCA	Ad Hoc Working Group on Long-term Cooperative Action under the Convention	
CA	Cancun Agreement	
CCS	Carbon Capture and Storage	
CG	Cartagena Group	
СМР	Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol	
DCCEE	Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency	
DFAT	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade	
DRET	Department of Resources and Tourism	
GEF	Global Environment Facility	
HoD	Head of Delegation	
ID	International Division	
IPCC	Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change	
KP	Kyoto Protocol	
LDC	Least developed country	
LDCF	Least Developed Country Fund	
LULUCF	Land use, land use change and forestry	
MRV	Measurement, reporting and verification	
REDD	Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and Forest Degradation in Developing Countries	
SBI	Subsidiary Body for Implementation	
SBSTA	Subsidiary Body for Scientific and Technological Advice	
SCCF	Special Climate Change Fund	

SIDS	Small Island Developing States
UG	Umbrella Group
UNFCCC	United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change

Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Additional Estimates 2010-2011, February 2011

Answers to questions on notice

Climate Change and Energy Efficiency portfolio

Outcome: 1 Question No: 64

Program: 1.4
Division/Agency: ID

Topic: Cancun **Hansard Page EC:** Written

Senator Birmingham asked:

- 1. How many ministerial advisers and ministerial media advisers attended?
- 2. Which staff attended from Minister Combet's office and what were their roles?
- 3. Did anyone from the Prime Minister's office attend?

Answer:

- 1. Two ministerial advisers attended.
- 2. From the Office of the Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, the following ministerial staff attended:
 - Deputy Chief of Staff, Mr Rod Hilton; and
 - ministerial adviser, Ms Kristin Tilley.
- 3. No.

Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Additional Estimates 2010-2011, February 2011

Answers to questions on notice

Climate Change and Energy Efficiency portfolio

Outcome: 1 Question No: 65

Program: 1.4

Division/Agency: ID

Topic: Cancun **Hansard Page EC:** Written

Senator Birmingham asked:

1. What class air travel did Ministerial staff fly to and from Mexico?

2. What hotels did they stay at?

Answer:

- 1. All ministerial staff flew Business Class.
- 2. The Australian delegation stayed at the Moon Palace (the Conference venue).