Media Statement: Fresh start for Infrastructure Australia—Chair welcomes new Board and new Act

2 September 2014

A new Infrastructure Australia board has been announced as the authority transitions to an independent statutory body.

Infrastructure Australia Chair, Mark Birrell, said the new board is the first step in advancing the authority's work following yesterday's proclamation of the *Infrastructure Australia Amendment Bill 2014*.

"Infrastructure Australia is now an independent statutory body with a much-needed mandate to prioritise and progress nationally significant infrastructure," Mr Birrell said.

"With a board in place we can now take up these important roles and be a key source of research and advice on the projects and reforms Australia needs to fill the infrastructure gap.

"If we get our infrastructure right, we will protect Australia's quality of life at a time of population growth and global economic change."

The recently-passed Bill strengthens the role of Infrastructure Australia and creates an independent board for the first time, which will appoint its own CEO.

"Board members bring deep experience from business, professions and academia, from both public and private sector backgrounds. This will help us provide the best possible advice on financing, delivering and managing projects around Australia," Mr Birrell said.

"I am pleased we have retained some experience from the previous advisory council and I welcome the new members and their expertise to the table."

The new Infrastructure Australia board members are:

- Mr Mark Birrell (Chair);
- Ms Julieanne Alroe;
- Mr Gerard Blood;
- Mr Michael Carapiet;
- Mr Peter Corish;
- A/Prof Colin Duffield;
- Ms Nicole Lockwood;
- Dr Daniel Norton;
- Dr Kerry Schott; and
- Mr Peter Watson.

The board was announced yesterday by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, The Hon Warren Truss. The acting CEO is Mr John Fitzgerald.

Mr Birrell said the early tasks of Infrastructure Australia are to complete a comprehensive audit of existing national infrastructure to be presented to the Australian Government later in the year, and publish a 15-year national infrastructure plan.

The plan will be based on wide input and will canvass:

- Australia's current and future infrastructure needs
- means of financing and delivering infrastructure, and
- ideas for better planning and use of infrastructure networks.

Infrastructure Australia Board

 Mr Mark Birrell (Chair) Port of Melbourne Corporation Citywide Pty Ltd Victorian Chamber of Commerce & Industry PostSuper Pty Ltd 	 Ms Julieanne Alroe Brisbane Airport Corporation Australia TradeCoast Tourism and Events Queensland Urban Futures Brisbane Committee for Economic Development of Australia
Mr Gerard Blood PPB Advisory Western Health Macquarie Capital RailCorp 	 Mr Michael Carapiet SAS Trustees Corp Safety, Return to Work and Support Board Smartgroup Corporation Limited Adexum Capital Limited Clean Energy Finance Corporation Macquarie Capital
 Mr Peter Corish Corish Group Yambocully Water Board National Water Commission Australian Japan Foundation 	 A/Prof Colin Duffield University of Melbourne Partnerships Victoria Regional Rail Link Gold Coast Rapid Transit
Ms Nicole Lockwood	Dr Daniel Norton

 KPMG Western Australian Planning Commission Road Freight Transport Industry Council 	 Tasmanian Ports Corp TasNetworks Pty Ltd WINenergy Pty Ltd Aurora Energy Pty Ltd
 Dr Kerry Schott Moorebank Intermodal Company Ltd NBN Co Sydney Water Deutsche Bank Sydney Light Rail 	 Mr Peter Watson Regional Rail Link Authority AssetCo Pty Ltd LogiCamms Pty Ltd Yarra Trams Transfield Services