SENATE STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS ATTORNEY-GENERAL'S DEPARTMENT

Group: 2

Program: 2.1

Question: 16

Senator Wright asked the following question at the hearing on 26-29 May 2014:

On notice then—for the sake of getting it in one place—over the last four years, who were the panel members of each of the panels (*for the Prime Minister's Literary Awards*).

The answer to the honourable senator's question is as follows:

The membership of each of the panels for the Prime Minister's Literary Awards over the past four years was:

Judges 2013

Professor John Hay AC

Mr Joel Becker (Chair) Mr Chris Wallace Crabbe Winthrop Professor Philip Mead	Non-Fiction and Australian History Mr Michael Sexton (Chair) Professor Susan Magarey Ms Susan Hayes	Children and Young Adult Ms Judith White (Chair) Mr Bob Sessions Ms Adele Rice
Ms Jane Sullivan Judges 2012	Mr Colin Steele	
Fiction and Poetry Mr Joel Becker (Chair) Mr Chris Wallace Crabbe Mr Peter Craven Dr Lyn Gallacher Judges 2011	Non-Fiction and Australian History Mr Chris Masters (Chair) Mr Colin Steele Dr Faye Sutherland Dr Michelle Arrow	Children and Young Adult Ms Judith White (Chair) Mr Bob Sessions Ms Mary-Ruth Mendel
Fiction * Professor Peter Pierce (Chair)	Dr Lyn Gallacher Non-Fiction *	Mr Colin Steele Dr Faye Sutherland

Mr Brian Johns AO (Chair)

Children and Young Adult	Dr Robyn Sheahan-Bright	Mr Mike Shuttleworth
	(Chair)	
	Dr Mary-Ruth Mendel	

Judges 2010

Fiction *	Non-Fiction *	Children and Young Adult
Professor Peter Pierce (Chair)	Mr Brian Johns AO (Chair)	Dr Robyn Sheahan-Bright (Chair
(Chair)	Mr Colin Steele	(Chan
Professor John Hay AC	Dr Faye Sutherland	Dr Mary-Ruth Mendel
Dr Lyn Gallacher	= y	Mr Mike Shuttleworth

^{*}The Australian history and poetry categories were not added to the Prime Minister's Literary Awards until 2012. With the addition of these categories came the appointment of an additional member to each of the two respective panels.