Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE ADDITIONAL ESTIMATES 2014-15

Finance Portfolio

Department/Agency: Australian Electoral Commission **Outcome/Program:** General **Topic:** Positions within the AEC

Senator: Dastyari Question reference number: F38 Type of question: Hansard, F&PA Committee, Page 115, 24 February 2015 Date set by the committee for the return of answer: Friday, 10 April 2015

Number of pages: 2

Question:

Senator DASTYARI: This is following up from the last round of estimates. Perhaps you could take this on notice. I appreciate how these things tend to work: people move up and that is appropriate—career planning. When you are at the point of finalising—you could take this on notice—could you provide us with an updated table of who is whom within the AEC? Mr Rogers: Certainly, Senator, with names, positions and when those positions are likely to

be filled.

Senator DASTYARI: The Australian Statistician was appointed, according to my notes, on 12 December. Is that correct?

Mr Rogers: I am not sure.

Mr Pirani: It was about that time. It was before Christmas.

Answer:

Australian Electoral Commission as at 24 February 2015:

NAME	POSITION	<u>FT/PT</u>	DATE	TERM
			<u>APPOINTED</u>	<u>EXPIRES</u>
1. Current members:				
The Hon. Peter HEEREY QC	Chairperson	РТ	23.07.09	22.03.15
VACANT	Non-Judicial Member	PT		
Mr Tom ROGERS	Electoral Commissioner	FT	15.12.14	14.12.19
VACANT (Mr Kevin KITSON A/g)	Deputy Electoral Commissioner	FT		

NAME	POSITION	FT/PT	<u>DATE</u> <u>APPOINTED</u>	<u>TERM</u> <u>EXPIRES</u>
2. State/Territory Electoral Officers:				
VACANT (Mr Robert PUGSLEY A/g)	Australian Electoral Officer for QLD	FT		
VACANT (Ms Marie NEILSON A/g)	Australian Electoral Officer for WA	FT		
Mr Jeff POPE	Australian Electoral Officer for VIC	FT	01.08.13	31.07.18
Mr Douglas ORR	Australian Electoral Officer for NSW	FT	01.03.10	28.02.15
VACANT (Mr Nick PARSONS A/g)	Australian Electoral Officer for NT	FT		
Ms Sandra RIORDAN	Australian Electoral Officer for TAS	FT	23.03.11	22.03.16
Ms Claire WITHAM	Australian Electoral Officer for SA	FT	30.06.11	29.06.16