Senate Committee: Education and Employment

QUESTION ON NOTICE Supplementary Budget Estimates 2015 - 2016

Outcome: Agency: TEQSA

Department of Education and Training Question No. SQ15-000805

Senator Carr, Kim provided in writing on 30 October 2015

TEQSA - Commissioners

Question

The Annual Report lists four Commissioners as having left their roles in 2014-15. What were the reasons for these resignations?

Can you confirm that TEQSA currently has only three Commissioners? How many Commissioners are stipulated in TEQSA's legislation? When do you expect that further Commissioners will be appointed? Why have they not been appointed already?

Answer

The Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) has provided the following response.

Commissioners are Statutory Office Holders appointed by the Minister for Education and Training. Matters related to their appointment and employment are the responsibility of the Department of Education and Training and the Minister.

The TEQSA Commission currently comprises a Chief Commissioner and two Commissioners.

Section 133 of the *Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011* (the TEQSA Act) states that TEQSA 'consists of a Chief Commissioner and at least one, but not more than four, other Commissioners. Consequently, the current number of TEQSA Commissioners satisfies the requirements of s133 of the TEQSA Act and there is no need to appoint further Commissioners.