Economics Legislation Committee

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Industry and Science Portfolio 2015-16 Budget Estimates 3 and 4 June 2015

AGENCY/DEPARTMENT: DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRY AND SCIENCE

TOPIC: National Radioactive Waste Management Facility - Advisory Panel

REFERENCE: Question on Notice (Hansard, 4 June 2015 page 9)

QUESTION No.: BI-27

Senator KETTER: Could you talk about the role of the independent advisory panel. First, when were members appointed to this panel and through what process?

Mr B Wilson: I will provide an initial answer but Mr Sheldrick can provide more detail. As to the exact dates of the appointment of the panel, I do not have them with me but I could take that on notice. The membership of the panel was selected by the department based on the skills and experience of individuals. The panel is an advisory panel for the process; it is not a decision-making group as such. It is not meant to be either a representative or a stakeholder consultation process. These are individuals who have been selected on the basis of their knowledge and experience. There are two sub-groups in that advisory panel. One is a technical sub-group chaired by Dr David Klingberg. I can read out all the names or I could provide them on notice.

Senator KETTER: On notice will be fine, thank you.

ANSWER

Members were appointed on 23 January 2015.

The Independent Advisory Panel is comprised of a Technical and Socioeconomic Sub-Group. The members of each Sub-Group are as follows:

Technical Sub-Group Members

- Dr David Klingberg AO (Chair)
- Mr Heffin Griffiths
- Mr Frank Harris
- Ms Cait Maloney
- Mr Tim Harrington
- Dr Ian J Duncan

Socioeconomic Sub-Group Members

- Adjunct Associate Professor Peta Ashworth (Chair)
- Associate Professor Geoff Currie
- Professor Ravi Naidu
- Mr Ben Heard
- Mr David Sweeney

Further information on the role of the panel and short biographies on panel members can be found at www.radioactivewaste.gov.au.