Economics Legislation Committee

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Industry, Innovation and Science Portfolio 2015-16 Additional Budget Estimates 11 February 2016

DEPARTMENT: DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRY, INNOVATION AND SCIENCE

TOPIC: Staffing profile

REFERENCE: Written Question – Senator Ludwig

QUESTION No.: AI-44

Since the change of Prime Minister on 14 September, 2015:

- 1. Has there been any change to the staffing profile of the department/agency?
- 2. Provide a list of changes to staffing numbers, broken down by classification level, division, home base location (including town/city and state)

ANSWER

Since the change of Prime Minister on 14 September, 2015:

1. Has there been any change to the staffing profile of the department/agency?

As a result of administrative arrangement orders since 14 September 2015:

- 20 staff transferred to the department relating to the digital economy function;
- 48 staff transferred from the department relating to the renewable energy function; and
- 8 staff transferred to the department relating to the Northern Australia Policy & Coordination function.
- 2. The staffing profile of the Department as at 11 February is provided below. Information regarding home based location cannot be provided for security reasons.

Headcount by Classification

Classification	Headcount
Sec	1
SES3	3
SES2	14
SES1	58
EL2	352
EL1	727
APS6	784
APS5	326
APS4	263
APS3	84
APS2	23
APS1	11
Grad	35

Headcount by Division

Division	Headcount
Australian Astronomical Observatory	78
Anti-Dumping Commission	73
AusIndustry – Business Services	416
AusIndustry – Innovation Programmes	120
Corporate Group	251
Department Executive	13
Digital Strategy & Operations	200
Economic & Analytical Services	85
Energy	185
Finance Group	189
International Energy Taskforce	9
National Innovation & Science Agenda	1
Delivery Unit	
National Measurement Institute	361
Portfolio Strategic Policy	138
Questacon	140
Resources	151
Science & Commercialisation Policy	115
Sectoral Growth Policy	156

Headcount by State Location

State	Headcocunt
Australian Capital Territory	1813
New South Wales	415
Northern Territory	5
Queensland	58
South Australia	34
Tasmania	16
Victoria	248
Western Australia	88