Senate Community Affairs Committee

ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

HEALTH AND AGEING PORTFOLIO

Budget Estimates 2011-2012, 30/31 May 2011

Question: E11-071

OUTCOME 2: Access to Pharmaceutical Services

Topic: PHARMACEUTICAL BENEFITS SCHEME (PBS) DEFERRALS

Written Question on Notice

Senator Helen Coonan asked:

Please provide the names and qualifications of each and every expert, alongside any industry bodies and/or stakeholders who were consulted prior to the decision to defer the listing of each of the following drugs:

- Duodart (dutasteride with tamsulosin hydrocholide)
- Invega Sustenna (paliperadone palmitate)
- Targin (oxycodone/naloxone)
- Symbicort (budesonide with eformoterol)
- Botox (botulinum toxin type A)
- Fragmin (dalteparin sodium)
- Synarel (nafarelin)

Answer:

The Government relies upon information provided by the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC) – the independent, expert advisory body, which is comprised of doctors, other health professionals and a consumer representative – in relation to clinical need and cost effectiveness for each medicine or vaccine submitted for listing on the PBS and National Immunisation Program (NIP). The Government's Chief Medical Officer (CMO) also plays a role in advising the Government on pharmaceutical related matters.

At the time of the Government announcement of the deferral of the medicines specified by Senator Coonan, the CMO was **Professor Jim Bishop AO**. Professor Bishop has recently been appointed to the positions of Executive Director of the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre and University of Melbourne Chair of Cancer Medicine. He was CMO from April 2009 to May 2011.

Current PBAC membership is as follows:

Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO (Chair) is the former Head of the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at the University of South Australia. He has been Chair of the PBAC since 2001.

Dr John Bennett is a General Practitioner and Practice Principal of the University Health Service at the University of Queensland. He is also a casual lecturer and tutor in Epidemiology, Public Health, Evidence Based Medicine, Medical Informatics and Primary Care Medical School at University Of Queensland. **Dr Jim Buttery** is Research Development Director, of the National health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Centre for Clinical Research Excellence in Child and Adolescent Immunisation and a consultant paediatrician and Infectious disease physician and the Royal Children's Hospital, Victoria.

Professor Terry Campbell is Professor of Medicine at University of New South Wales and Head of the Department of Medicine, St Vincent's Hospital, Sydney.

Associate Professor Michael Coory is the Public Health Physician and Clinical Epidemiologist at the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute and Adjunct Associate Professor at School of Population Health at the University of Queensland and University of Melbourne.

Dr Matthew Doogue is a Clinical Pharmacologist and Endocrinologist at Southern Adelaide Health Services and Flinders University School of Medicine, South Australia.

Professor Jennifer Doust is Professor of Clinical Epidemiology in the Centre for Research in Evidence Based Practice at Bond University and is a General Practitioner in Brisbane. **Professor David Isaacs** is a Clinical Professor at the University of Sydney. He is a paediatrician at the Department of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology, based at The Children's Hospital at Westmead in Sydney.

Professor David G LeCouteur is a geriatrician, clinical pharmacologist and general physician. He is Professor of Geriatric Medicine at the University of Sydney, Director of the Centre for Education and Research on Ageing (CERA), Director of the Biogerontology Laboratory of the ANZAC Research Institute and Senior Staff Specialist Physician at the Concord RG Hospital in Sydney. He is Chair of the PBAC Drugs Utilisation Sub-Committee.

Professor Geoff McColl is a rheumatologist and Professor of Medical Education and Training in the Melbourne Medical School at the University of Melbourne.

Mr Mitchell Messer has been a health consumer advocate for over 30 years and is the consumer member on the PBAC.

Dr Karen Peachey is a community pharmacist from Queensland with an interest in eHealth, pharmacoepidemiology and aged care.

Professor Andrew Roberts is a Clinical Haematologist at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and an NHMRC Practitioner Fellow and Head of Clinical Translation at The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research.

Dr Roger Sexton is a rural General Practitioner and part time medical tutor at Adelaide and Flinders Universities. He has experience in procedural rural medicine, medical education and medical regulation. His special interests include doctors' health, dermatology and teaching.

Dr Rashmi Sharma is a General Practitioner and Practice Principal of a large teaching practice in Canberra where she supervises nursing and medical students, interns and General Practitioner registrars. She is a Senior Lecturer at the ANU Medical School and President of the ACT Division of General Practice. She is a board member and medical educator for the regional general practice training provider, Coast City Country GP Training Ltd.

Associate Professor Rosalie Viney is a health economist at the Centre for Health Economics Research and Evaluation, University of Technology, Sydney. She is Chair of the PBAC Economics Sub-Committee.

Professor Robyn Ward is the Clinical Associate Dean at Prince of Wales Clinical School, University of New South Wales, and Director of Cancer Services for South Eastern Sydney and Illawarra Local Health Networks. She is a practising medical oncologist and a medical researcher.

Dr Frances Wilson is Senior Staff Specialist in Psychiatry and Clinical Director, Adult Psychiatry Unit at Westmead Hospital. She is a Clinical Senior Lecturer at Sydney University.