## Senate Community Affairs Committee

## ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

## HEALTH AND AGEING PORTFOLIO

Additional Estimates 2010-2011, 23 February 2011

Question: E11-127

OUTCOME 1: Population Health

Topic: AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL COUNCIL ON DRUGS MEMBERSHIP

Written Question on Notice

Senator Fierravanti-Wells asked:

- a) What is the current membership of the Australian National Council on Drugs?
- b) Are the members those who were recommended in a minute to the Minister provided in February 2010?
- c) When do the current terms of the members expire?

## Answer:

- a) The members of the Australian National Council on Drugs announced by the Prime Minister on 15 April 2011 are:
  - *Chair* Dr John Herron:
  - Executive members Associate Professor Robert Ali, Professor Margaret Hamilton, Mr Garth Popple;
  - Other members Professor Steve Allsop, Mr Frank Quinlan, Professor Jon Currie, Ms Donna Ah Chee, Ms Carrie Fowlie, Magistrate Margaret Gill Harding, Mr Nick Heath, Ms Annie Madden, Commissioner Karl O'Callaghan, Professor Dorothy Scott, Assistant Commissioner Julian Slater, Ms Sheree Vertigan, Associate Professor Ted Wilkes, Mr Paul White.
- b) It has been the longstanding practice of successive governments not to release the details of advice on appointments.
- c) The appointments have been made until April 2014.