Abbreviations

ABARES	Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences		
ACF	Australian Conservation Foundation		
AFA	Australian Floodplain Association		
ANAO	Australian National Audit Office		
Barwon-Darling WSP	Water Sharing Plan for the Barwon-Darling Unregulated and Alluvial Water Sources (2012)		
Basin Plan	Murray-Darling Basin Plan		
BDW	Barwon-Darling Water		
BOC	Basin Officials Committee		
CEWH	Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder		
COAG	Council of Australian Governments		
COFFIE	Commonwealth On-Farm Further Irrigation Efficiency program		
committee	Senate Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport References Committee		
Compact	Basin Compliance Compact		
DAWR	Department of Agriculture and Water Resources		
DEWNR	Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources (SA)		
DPI	NSW Department of Primary Industries		
Draft report	Murray-Darling Basin Plan: Five-year assessment – draft report (Productivity Commission)		
EDO	Environmental Defender's Office		
EDOA	EDOs of Australia		
GL	Gigalitre		
GVIA	Gwydir Valley Irrigators Association		

IAC	Independent Assurance Committee		
ICAC	NSW Independent Commission Against Corruption		
IGA	Intergovernmental Agreement on Implementing Water Reform in the Murray-Darling Basin		
IRN	Inland Rivers Network		
Matthews review	Independent investigation into NSW water management and compliance, Ken Matthews AO		
MDB	Murray-Darling Basin		
MDBA	Murray-Darling Basin Authority		
Minister	Commonwealth Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources		
Ministerial Council	Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council		
ML	Megalitre		
MLDRIN	Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations		
NFF	National Farmers' Federation		
NIC	National Irrigators' Council		
NPA	National Partnership Agreement on Implementing Water Reform in the Murray-Darling Basin		
NRAR	Natural Resources Access Regulator (NSW)		
NSWIC	NSW Irrigators Council		
NSWO	New South Wales Ombudsman		
NWC	National Water Commission		
NWI	National Water Initiative		
PAWD	Pastoralists' Association of West Darling		
PC	Productivity Commission		
QFF	Queensland Farmers' Federation		
SAMI	South Australian Murray Irrigators		
SDL	Sustainable Diversion Limit		

SIU	Strategic Investigation Unit	
Water Act	Water Act 2007 (Commonwealth)	
WCR	Murray-Darling Water Compliance Review	
Wentworth Group	Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists	
WESA	Water for the Environment Special Account	
WRPs	Water resource plans	