Appendix 1

Witnesses who appeared before the committee on 10 July 2015¹

Friday, 10 July 2015 – Sydney

Australian Hearing and National Acoustic Laboratories

Mr Bill Davidson, Managing Director Ms Gina Mavrias, Operations Director

Aussie Deaf Kids

Mrs Ann Porter AM, Chief Executive Officer

Deafness Forum of Australia

Mr Stephen Williamson, Chief Executive Officer Ms Margaret Dewberry, Adviser

Parents of Deaf Children (PODC)

Ms Anna Messariti, President

Ms Kate Kennedy, Coordinator

Mr Mark Wyburn, Ordinary Committee Member and Regional Representative

Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind Children (RIDBC)

Mr Christopher Rehn, Chief Executive Officer

¹ The hearings and witnesses listed in this appendix relate to the committee's hearing on 10 July 2015, which focussed on the proposed privatisation of Australian Hearing, and related issues. A full list of the committee's hearings and witnesses is at the committee's website:

www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate/Health/Public_Hearings.

Deaf Australia Inc.

Mr Kyle Miers, Chief Executive Officer, through Vanessa Sweeney and Kerrie Lakeman, sign language interpreters

The HEARing Cooperative Research Centre Limited

Professor Robert Cowan, Chief Executive Officer

Independent Audiologists Australia

Dr Louise Collingridge, Executive Officer

Deaf Society of NSW

Ms Leonie Jackson, Chief Executive Officer, through Vanessa Sweeney and Kerrie Lakeman, sign language interpreters

The Shepherd Centre

Dr Jim Hungerford, Chief Executive Officer

Better Hearing Australia

Ms Sara Duncan, National President

Department of Health

Ms Catherine Rule, First Assistant Secretary, Medical Benefits Division Ms Tracey Duffy, National Manager, Office of Hearing Services

Department of Finance

Mr Robin Renwick, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Commercial and Claims Division Ms Sharon Ong, Assistant Secretary, Commercial and Claims Division

Department of Human Services

Mr Jonathan Hutson, Acting Deputy Secretary, Enabling Services

Ms Rosemary Deininger, General Manager, Whole of Government Coordination

Division