Appendix 3

Public hearings and witnesses

Tuesday 14 April 2015, Canberra

Association of Australian Certified UAV Operators

Mr Brad Mason, Secretary Mr Peter La Franchi, Head, Strategy and Commercial, LFRG Pty Ltd

Northern Territory Government

Mr Stephen Mencshelyi, General Manager, Defence, Security and Emergency Recovery, Department of the Chief Minister

Mr Peter Sims, Director Strategic Defence Liaison

Mr Timothy McOwan, Member, Defence Strategic Advisory Board, Department of the Chief Minister

Northrop Grumman Australia

Mr Ken Crowe, Director, Strategy and Business Development

Saab Australia Dr Derek Rogers, Programme Manager and Engineering Manager

Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Dr Andrew Davies, Senior Analyst and Director of Research Ms Rosalyn Turner, Researcher

Australian Red Cross

Dr Phoebe Wynn-Pope, Director, International Humanitarian Law and Movement Relations

Ms Petra Ball, International Humanitarian Law Officer

Ms Annabel McConnachie, Member, NSW International Humanitarian Law Advisory Committee

Centre for Military and Security Law, ANU

Associate Professor Robert McLaughlin, Co-Director Dr Hitoshi Nasu, Co-Director

Programme on the Regulation of Emerging Military Technology, Melbourne Law School

Dr Rain Liivoja, Senior Lecturer Professor Tim McCormack, Professor of Law

Department of Defence

Rear Admiral Peter Quinn, Head, Joint Capability Coordination Air Commodore Christopher Hanna, Acting Head, Defence Legal Mr Chris Birrer, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Strategic Policy Air Commodore Michael Kitcher, Director General Capability Planning Air Force Air Vice Marshal Gavin Davies, Deputy Chief of Air Force Dr Ken Anderson, Acting Deputy Chief Defence Scientist, Partnerships and Outreach

Monday 4 May 2015, Canberra

Cobham Aviation Services

Mr Timothy Dore, Manager, Defence and Security Mr Anthony Patterson, Director, Business Development

Wednesday 13 May 2015, Canberra

Civil Aviation Safety Authority

Mr Terry Farquharson, Acting Director of Aviation Safety

Mr Peter Boyd, Executive Manager, Standards Division

Mr Peter Cromarty, Executive Manager, Airspace and Aerodrome Regulation Division