APPENDIX 2

Public hearings

Tuesday, 4 August 2015 Committee Room 1, Legislative Council Committee Office Parliament House, Perth

Witnesses

Amnesty International Ms Tammy Solonec, Indigenous Peoples' Rights Manager

The Wirrapanda Foundation

Mr David Wirrpanda, Director Mr Dale Kickett, Moorditj Ngoorndiak Program Manager Mr Eddie Brown, Moorditj Ngoorndiak Program Mentor Mr Walter McGuire, Moorditj Ngoorndiak Program Mentor and Vocational Training and Employment Centre Mentor Mr Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls, Kwinana Program Manager

Aboriginal Family Law Services (WA)

Ms Corina Martin, Principal Legal Officer Ms Andrea Smith, Principal Policy Officer

Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia (Inc)

Mr Dennis Eggington, Chief Executive Officer Mr Peter Collins, Director, Legal Services

Community Legal Centres Association (WA) Inc.

Ms Helen Creed, Executive Director Ms Chelsea McKinney, Systemic Advocacy Consultant, WA Association for Mental Health

Chief Justice of Western Australia, the Honourable Wayne Martin AC

Western Australia Council of Social Service (WACOSS)

Mr Daniel Morrison, Chief Executive Officer of Aboriginal Alcohol and Drug Service Mr Chris Twomey, Director of Social Policy Ms Vicky Burrows, Project Officer, Reconciliation WA Wednesday, 23 September 2015 State Library of New South Wales Dixon Room, Macquarie Street, Sydney

Witnesses

The Lililwan Project

Professor Elizabeth Elliott, University of Sydney Professor Jane Latimer, The George Institute for Global Health

Dr Don Weatherburn PSM, Director of the NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research and Adjunct Professor, School of Social Science and Policy at UNSW

Department of Justice NSW

Dr Anne-Marie Martin, Assistant Commissioner of Offender Management and Programs Mr Jason Hainsworth, Acting Assistant Commissioner, Community Corrections

Legal Aid NSW

Ms Monique Hitter, Executive Director Civil Law Practice Ms Jemima McCaughan, Senior Solicitor Civil Law Service for Aboriginal Communities

National Association of Community Legal Centres (NACLC)

Ms Polly Porteous, Chief Executive Officer Ms Nancy Walke PSM, NACLC Board Member/ Mirrung Ngu Wanjarri (Aboriginal Women Making Changes) Project Worker, Northern Rivers Community Legal Centre

Kimberley Aboriginal Law and Cultural Centre (KALACC) (via teleconference)

Mr Wes Morris, Coordinator

Corrective Services NSW

Dr Anne-Marie Martin, Assistant Commissioner of Offender Management and Programs Mr Adam Schreiber, Principal Manager, Aboriginal Strategy and Policy Unit

Redfern Legal Centre

Ms Elizabeth Morley, Principal Solicitor Mr David Porter, Senior Solicitor

Women's Legal Services NSW

Ms Dixie Link-Gordon, Senior Community Access Officer, Indigenous Women's Legal Program Ms Helen Campbell, Executive Officer, Women's Legal Services NSW

154

Tuesday, 16 February 2016 The Litchfield Room Parliament House, Darwin

North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (NAAJA) Ms Priscilla Collins, Chief Executive Officer Mr Jonathon Hunyor, Principal Legal Officer

NT Legal Aid Commission

Ms Suzan Cox QC, Director Ms Seranie Gamble, Outreach Project Manager

Top End Women's Legal Service

Ms Melanie Warbrooke, Senior Solicitor Ms Caitlin Weatherby-Fell, Solicitor

Monday, 4 April 2016 Senate Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Witnesses

Mr Mick Gooda, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner

Just Reinvest (Bourke) Ms Sarah Hopkins, Chairperson

Law Council of Australia

Mr Nick Parmeter, Executive Policy Lawyer

Mr Albert Holt, private capacity

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Elizabeth Quinn, Assistant Secretary Mr Adam Nott, Director, Indigenous Legal Assistance Ms Esther Bogaart, Director, Legal Assistance and Women's Safety Section