Appendix 2

Public hearings

Wednesday 23 August 2017 John Forrest Room, 51 Forrest Street Quality Inn Railway Motel & Function Centre Kalgoorlie WA

Witnesses

Western Australia Police

Inspector Glen Willers, Assistant District Officer, Goldfields-Esperance District Superintendent Michael Bell, District Superintendent, Mid-West Gascoyne District

Kalgoorlie-Boulder Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Ms Tina Carmody, Aboriginal Youth Transition Co-ordinator

Save the Children Kununurra

Ms Victoria Baird, Regional Coordinator, East Kimberley

Kalgoorlie-Boulder Aboriginal Residents Group

Mr Brian Champion, Co-Chairperson Mrs Denise Champion, Spokesperson, Focus Group—Drugs and Alcohol Ms Ada Hanson, Community Development Officer, Australian Red Cross; and Kalgoorlie-Boulder Aboriginal Community Residents Group Mrs Raelene Peel, Member

HOPE Community Services

Ms Chelsea Hunter, Regional Manager, Goldfields

Laverton Leonora Cross Cultural Association

Ms Christine Boase, Treasurer

Goldfields Community Mental Health

Ms Raylene Cooper, Senior Aboriginal Mental Health Officer

Ngaanyatjarra Council

Mr Gerard Coffey, Chief Executive Officer Ms Harriet Olney, Independent Director Mr Damien McLean, Warburton Community Adviser

Goldfields Land and Sea Council

Mr Hans Bokelund, Chief Executive Officer

Nurra Karramunoo Aboriginal Corporation

Ms Vanessa Thomas, Secretary

Kullarri Regional Communities Indigenous Corporation

Mr Graeme Hastie, Case Manager Coordinator

Aarnja Ltd

Mr Martin Sibosado, Chairperson

Monday 28 August 2017 Alice Springs Convention Centre Alice Springs, NT

Witnesses

Tangentyere Council Aboriginal Corporation

Mr Michael Klerck, Social Policy and Research, Manager Mr Matthew Ellem, General Manager Ms Adele McCorkindale, Service Delivery Manager

Ngurratjuta Pmara Ntjarra

Mr Cameron Miller, Chief Executive Officer Mrs Katherine O'Donoghue, CDP Manager

Professor Jon Altman – Private Capacity Ms Lisa Fowkes - Private Capacity Dr Kirrily Jordan - Private Capacity Dr Inge Kral - Private Capacity Dr Janet Hunt - Private Capacity

NPY Empowered Communities Secretariat

Ms Liza Balmer, Acting Chief Executive Officer Mr Mark Jackman, General Manager Mr Jamie Nyaningu, Chairperson Ms Tanya Luckey, Member

Arnhem Land Progress Association

Mr Liam Flanagan, CDP Manager

Mr Peter Strachan - Private Capacity

Mr Chansey Paech MLA - Member for Namatjira, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly

Mr Bill Gray AM - Private Capacity

Enterprise Learning Projects

Ms Laura Egan, Founder/Chief Executive Officer

Uniting Communities

Ms Susan Tilley, Manager, Aboriginal Policy and Advocacy

Children's Ground

Ms Jane Vadiveloo, Chief Executive Officer Ms Melissa Kean, Director (Central Australia)

Friday 8 September 2017 Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House Canberra, ACT

Witnesses

Australian Council of Social Service

Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive Officer Mr Peter Davidson, Senior Advisor

Human Rights Law Centre

Ms Adrianne Walters, Director, Legal Advocacy

Jobs Australia

Mr David Thompson AM, Chief Executive Officer Mrs Maria Harvey, Chief Executive Officer, Tiwi Island Training Employment Board

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Ms Kara Keys, National Campaign Coordinator Ms Sophie Ismail, Legal and Industrial Officer Ms Lara Watson, Indigenous Officer

Community and Public Sector Union

Ms Lisa Newman, Deputy National President Mr Brook Holloway, Governing Councillor

Aboriginal Peak Organisations of the Northern Territory

Ms Lisa Fowkes, Advisor Mr Eric Bedford, Chief Executive Officer – Marra Worra Worra Aboriginal Corporation

Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance of the Northern Territory

Mr John Paterson. Chief Executive Officer Dr David Cooper, Policy and Research Manager

Central Land Council

Mr David Ross, Director Ms Jayne Weepers, Manager - Policy and Research

North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency

Ms Priscilla Collins, Chief Executive Officer Mr John Rawnsley, Manager, Law and Justice Section Ms Jordina Rust, Solicitor

Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet

Mr Andrew Tongue, Associate Secretary, Indigenous Affairs Group

Mrs Bronwyn Field, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Community And Economic Development Division

Mr Paul Denny, Assistant Secretary, Community and Economic Development Division

Mr Sam Peascod, Acting Assistant Secretary, Community and Economic Development Division

Department of Human Services

Mr Shane Bennett, Acting Deputy Secretary Ms Bridget Brill, General Manager Ms Rosemary Deininger, General Manager Mr Mark Le Dieu, General Manager

Wednesday 4 October 2017 Police Citizens Youth Club, Mango Avenue, Palm Island, QLD

Witnesses

Campbell Page Limited

Mr Sotir Kondov, Interim Chief Executive Officer Ms Kylie Van Der Neut, Senior Manager Contract Assurance Mr Nathan James Vinson, CDP Program Manager

Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council

Councillor Alfred Lacey, Mayor Councillor Roy Prior, Deputy Mayor Councillor Edward Walsh, Senior

Wednesday 4 October 2017 Quest Townsville on Eyre, 19 Leichardt St, Townsville, OLD

Witnesses

Queensland Police Force

Assistant Commissioner Paul Taylor, Assistant Commissioner, Northern Region

Rainbow Gateway Limited

Ms Katie Owens, Manager

Jobfind Centres Australia Pty Ltd trading as RISE Ventures

Mr Michael Hobday, Chief Executive Officer

Northern Alliance of Councils

Mayor Lyn McLaughlin, Burdekin Mayor Councillor Liz Schmidt, President

Palm Island Community Company

Ms Rachel Atkinson, Chief Executive Officer