Appendix 2

Public Hearings

Canberra, 11 November 2016

Committee members in attendance: Senators Marshall, McKenzie, Paterson and Moore (participating)

Witnesses

Professor Andrew Podger, private capacity

Dr Sue Williamson, private capacity

Professor Michael O'Donnell, private capacity

Institute of Public Affairs

Mr Aaron Lane, Legal Fellow, Institute of Public Affairs

Mr Esmond Smith, Employee Bargaining Representative for Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) staff at both the ACCC and the Australian Energy Regulator

Community and Public Sector Union (CPSU)

Ms Joanne Kerr, Section Secretary, Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, CPSU Mrs Leonie Henricks, Organiser, Federal Court Bargaining Team, CPSU Mrs Kelly Miller, Department of Agriculture and Water Resources Bargaining Team, CPSU Mr Leo Vukosa, Community and Public Sector Union Delegate, Department of Parliamentary Services, CPSU Mr Michael Tull, Assistant National Secretary, CPSU

CPSU Bargaining Team Panel

Mr Tom Carrigg, Australian Competition and Consumer Commission Bargaining Team, CPSU Ms Sinddy Ealy, ABC Section Secretary, ABC Bargaining Team, CPSU Mr Andrew Greenan, Administrative Appeals Tribunal Bargaining Team, CPSU Mr Erik Rasmussen, Australian Taxation Office Bargaining Team, CPSU Ms Beth Vincent-Pietsch, Deputy Secretary, CPSU

Australian Public Service Commission

The Hon John Lloyd, Australian Public Service Commissioner Ms Stephanie Foster, Deputy Australian Public Service Commissioner Mr Marco Spaccavento, Group Manager, Australian Public Service Commission

CPSU

Mr Alistair Waters, National President, CPSU Ms Nadine Flood, National Secretary, CPSU

Department of Employment

Mrs Moya Drayton, Group Manager, People and Communications Group, Department of Employment Mr Stuart Watson, Branch Manager, People Branch, Department of Employment

Australian Taxation Office

Ms Jacqui Curtis, Chief Operating Officer, Australian Taxation Office Mr Brad Chapman, Acting Deputy Commissioner, ATO People

Department of Human Services

Ms Jenet Connell, Deputy Secretary, Enterprise Strategy and Reform Group, Department of Human Services Mr Michael Outram, Deputy Commissioner, Operations, Department of Human Services Mr Murali Venugopal, First Assistant Secretary, People Division, Department of Human Services

Townsville, 15 November 2016

Committee members in attendance: Senators Marshall, McKenzie and Moore (participating)

Witnesses

CPSU Bargaining Team, Department of Human Services (DHS)

Ms Lisa Newman, CPSU Deputy National President, CPSU Bargaining Team, DHS Ms Elida Faith, CPSU DHS Section President, CPSU Bargaining Team, DHS Ms Emma White, CPSU DHS Section Secretary, CPSU Bargaining Team, DHS Mr Mark Hargreaves, CPSU Workplace Delegate, DHS

CPSU Bargaining Team, Defence

Mr Bill Marklew, CPSU Queensland Regional Secretary, Defence CPSU Member Representatives Ms Deb Hayman, CPSU Defence Section President, Defence CPSU Member Representatives Mr Ian Reid, CPSU member, Defence CPSU Member Representatives

CSIRO Staff Association Bargaining Team

Dr Michael Borgas, President, CSIRO Staff Association Mr Mike Collins, Delegate, CSIRO Staff Association

98

CPSU Members Team, Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP)

Mr Rupert Evans, Deputy National President, CPSU Miss Susan Jones, CPSU Section Secretary, DIBP Mr Mike Suijdendorp, CPSU Bargaining Team, DIBP Mr Ric Selim, CPSU Delegate, DIBP Marine Unit Ms Fiona Powell, Member, CPSU