© Commonwealth of Australia 2015

ISBN 978-1-76010-295-1

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3083 Fax: 02 6277 5829

E-mail: ndis.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: www.aph.gov.au/joint_ndis

This document was produced by the Joint National Disability Insurance Scheme Committee Secretariat and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE

44th Parliament

Committee Members

The Hon Mal Brough MP, Chair (until 23 September 2015) QLD, LP VIC, LP The Hon Bruce Billson MP, Chair (from 13 October 2015) Senator Alex Gallacher, Deputy Chair SA, ALP Senator Matthew Canavan (until 15 June) QLD, NATS Senator Linda Reynolds WA, LP Senator Rachel Siewert WA, AG ACT, LP Senator Zed Seselja TAS, ALP Senator Anne Urquhart Dr David Gillespie MP NSW, NATS Ms Jill Hall MP NSW, ALP Mr Steve Irons MP (until 23 September 2015) WA, LP Ms Joanna Lindgren (from 15 June) QLD, LNP The Hon Jenny Macklin MP VIC, ALP Mr Russell Matheson MP (from 13 October 2015) NSW, LP SA, ALP The Hon Amanda Rishworth MP

Secretariat

Mr Mark Fitt, Committee Secretary

Mr Gerry McInally, Principal Research Officer

Ms Natasha Rusjakovski, Acting Principal Research Officer

Ms Fiona Gardner, Senior Research Officer

Ms Ruth Edwards, Administrative Officer

Mr Simon Jones, Administrative Officer

Ms Sarah Batts, Administrative Officer

Ms Hannah Dunn, Administrative Officer

Ms Louise Kelly, Administrative Officer

TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Joint Standing Committee on the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) was established on 2 December 2013 when the Senate agreed to a resolution from the House of Representatives, passed on 21 November 2013. The committee is composed of six Members and six Senators.

The committee is tasked with:

- a. reviewing the implementation of the NDIS;
- b. reviewing the administration and expenditure of the NDIS;
- c. reviewing any matter in relation to the NDIS referred to the committee by a resolution of either House of the Parliament;

The committee's focus is therefore on the **implementation** and **administration** of the scheme. Unless otherwise stated, the committee will only accept submissions and correspondence that are directly and principally related to the implementation and administration of the NDIS.

The committee has **not** been established to inquire into the case for having the NDIS. These issues have already been addressed by the Community Affairs Legislation Committee as part of its inquiry into the NDIS Bill 2012.

The committee does not have the ability to examine, advise on, or advocate for individual cases. People with concerns about these matters should contact the National Disability Advocacy Program.

After 30 June each year, the committee has been asked to present an annual report to the Parliament on the activities of the committee during the year. The report should include reference to the National Disability Insurance Scheme Board quarterly and annual reports provided by the Standing Council on Disability Reform.